Book Review: Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Maas

So this is my very first book review :P Just to let you guys know, here’s how my review shall work:

  1. There will be some basic statistics of the book.
  2. You’ll get to see the blurb from the back of the book, featuring the book cover(s).
  3. I’ll give a comment on the cover design.
  4. The review!

tumblr_inline_nhx3f6wpyn1t2zl0ytumblr_inline_nhxbjrjayh1t2zl0y

Name: Throne of Glass
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Release Date: August 7, 2012

Blurb from US edition

In a world without magic, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the vicious king who rules from his throne of glass (ROLL CREDITS!) but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she will be released from prison to serve as the King’s Champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her, The Captain of the Guard will protect her. And a princess from a faraway land will befriend her. But something evil dwells in the castle—and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival—and a desparate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.


Book Cover Comments

US Edition

So Sarah’s books mainly come in the slightly larger US edition with a more block like font and a richer background.
For the US edition, Celaena is there posing, and she gives off that really strong aura along with the ice/fire-like aura around her. But to me, it seems like black+blue-fire on a greyish purple background seems a bit too clashing, but overall, it looks great. The font is really interesting as the first and last letters of the first word is enlarged, and I think the hollow 3-D effect from the font is really nice.

The side has Celaena’s face on it, with the title in a regular capitalised font of the front cover between light blue lines, so I guess light blue is the theme color of TOG.

The back is really interesting because its sort of a elegant mirror of the front, but I can’t really see it well because of the blurb and all the similar color tones, and the “Don’t Miss” section sort of ruins the color mood.

The inside design for the two versions are actually different, with the chapter pages including a sort of swirly-glass-thingy like pattern on the top, and the “chapter” being in the cover’s font.

UK/AUS Edition

As for the UK edition, the same Celaena from US cover is featured here, but it is more zoomed out, so we can see her entire figure clearly. This time, the aura around her is only ice blue, and the background is not fuzzy-grey-purple but white. The font used is a really normal capitalised font with the “of” being in italics, but it gives a really elegant look.

The side is just the title with no extra faces and lines.

As for the back, same thing with US, a more zoomed out figure but on white instead of purple. I personally like the UK edition better because I can see everything clearer, and the back blurb doesn’t cover the elegant Celaena too badly. However, after owning this book for five months, the title color was starting to fall-off, so I crie.

The chapter pages are plain, just the numbers and two thingymabobs-for-decoration at the side of them. But the plainess also gives the book a serious feeling lol.


The Actual Review

Um, what should I say? I don’t even know. All I know is, I knew I had to pick up book 2 immediately after i finished TOG.

There wasn’t one point where I thought the book was boring and I wanted to put it down. The entire book was filled with action, resolution and a bit of romance (what I personally look for in books :P). Celaena is an extremely strong character that overcame many walls and fears, and she is definitely my favourite character and someone that I will look up to all the time.

You can really see the strong character building in the series, and it was actually wonderful to see how each and every character needs to be there to play their role, and each character has an importance whether they are part of the main crew or not (this sounds like a general English Charles Dickens analysis)

I actually doubted for awhile whether I should pick up this series when I saw it on the bookshelves in Kinokuniya, Malaysia, because I wasn’t so sure with the concept of an assassin. But after I read this book, it was breathtaking I just can’t describe how much I loved the book afterwards, and I’m so glad I read it.

It’s also really great to see that our wonderful heroine also has a soft heart and would actually not get to rank one in order to save her friend during the competition, and it was quite heartwarming. I really wanted Celaena to find a romantic relationship in Dorian DURING my time I was reading this book, and I liked the bit of relationship development between the two of them.

And when all the mysteries and magic came in with Elena, the sword Damaris and the Wyrdmarks, I just got so sucked in to the book I was like YES YES YES YES MORE. Maas successfully swept me off my foot with Throne of Glass, this action packed book that is full of, I don’t even know how I can describe it. I was like, “this is what I’m looking for, with all sorts of magic I’ve never heard before and everything I can imagine”. And all the friendships between everyone, its just really nice to see the doubts and trusts, because that is what a book should include, with all the flaws and imperfectness, since that is real life. (this sounds absolutely cliche and typical. I’m sorry)

And I seriously didn’t believe it when the inspiration for TOG came from Cinderella’s backgroud music. I think Maas did an excellent job in actually getting inspired by BGM itself since its not an easy thing, especially with such a sugar coated story. That reminds me, the “running away Cinderella music” that Maas got inspired from actually fits the original Cinderella Story quite well, and the entire book would too. To see an original translation of the ORIGINAL CINDERELLA i refer to, click here.


For those of you who have made it through this fangirling and absolute B.S., thank you so much for your support, and Throne of Glass is definitely a must read, and is definitely my favourite book series right now. So those of you who have read it, head down to twitter @maas_hk and fangirl with me. Those of you who have not read it, go read it or I’ll kill you.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

