Book Review: Crown of Midnight – Sarah J. Maas

Welcome to my second book review. I’ll be basically posting reviews daily or as quick as possible so that you bookworms can catch up on what I’ve read since July 2015, when my book obsession came back. Basic run through:

  1. basic statistics of the book.
  2. blurb from the back of the book, feat. book cover(s).
  3. cover design comment.
  4. The review!

Caution: This Review contains SPOILERS! If you don’t want any spoilers, Click HERE


tumblr_inline_nhxdnzpkau1t2zl0y crown-of-midnight-cover

Name: Crown of Midnight

Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Release Date: August 15, 2013

Blurb from US edition

Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become the King’s Champion. But she is far from loyal to the crown. Though she hides her secret vigilantly, her deadly charade becomes difficult when she realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. No one is above questioning her allegiance—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then, one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is willing to fight for.

(Also, I feel like the US blurbs are not only much more longer, they also give more hint to the events in the books, while the UK/AUS keeps it secretive and riddlish.)


Book Cover Comments

US Edition

It’s pretty much same same with ToG, Celaena posing with a fire thingamajig around her and a animated-like background-if-u-know-what-I-mean. Once again, the fire thingy clashes a lot with the background, and orange is sort of such an unusual tone, so not really my thing. The book title though, stands out really well with the opaque and 3D effect. So good job on that Bloomsbury.

The side has Celaena’s face on it, but I feel like she looks older(?) and ToG is hauntier XD The lines are in yellow, but I vote red to be the theme color. Well, yellow/orange if you’re more obsessed with the US editions, and red if you’re more obsessed with the UK editions (me).

My opinions of the back is pretty much the same for this and ToG. I like the elegant mirrored Celaena and how the dresses were actually mentioned and “used” in the book, but everything just covers it, and the background is too clashy.

UK/AUS Edition

As for the UK edition, the fire aura thats apparently actually RED is shown to its maximum potential since the back is pure white. Ah. My eyes aren’t blinded by the overwhelmingness. So yea. Obvi UK edition fan. The title printing, again, isn’t the best type of material they used, so it also falls off. Tragic. and CoM is worse than ToG.

Same with the side, the metallic shine to the words gives it a real SHINE.

As for the back, so instead of a white background, they went for red, and so red fire aura on red background sorta hides it, but who cares because we can see Celaena’s elegant mirrored version V-Well. Thumbs up.


The Actual Review

Crown of Midnight was just, wow.

A lot happened. I feel like I’m giving a plot summary more than a review.

So in this book, after Celaena let go of Dorian because of who she is, a.k.a. the king’s champion, you start to see a lot, A LOT of relationship development bewteen Chaol and Celaena, therefore the ship name Chaolaena. It’s really nice to see more developments of different boys, along with Maas’s concept of “the world being a place where you won’t only stick to one guy, even though mines was a legit fairytale” (taken from the news article from Malaysia that was posted in May 2016)

We also see how Celaena made such a dangerous move by not killing her targets and faking all their deaths to the king. Knowing that was just sort of, aww. Celaena you’re awesome.

But Maas doesn’t make your life perfect with mini-steam-scenes of Chaolaena, with “I’ve never been so sure of anything in my life before.”, and it’s that concept in her mind that makes Crown of Midnight so realistic, as life is not a fairytale. (unless you live in your dreams. I sound very insulting.) Chapter 25 was like, intense, especially when I reread CoM, I was like OOOHHHHHHHHHHH THAT’S WHAT HAPPENED. You knew when Elena and Nehemia had the conversation, how brave Nehemia was to accept her destiny and basically orchestrate everything that happened afterwards in order for everything else to settle in. And at this point, I’m going to bring in one of my favourite quotes of all time:

“There is no such thing as coincidence. There is only the inevitable.” (Yuuko Ichihara – xxxHOLiC)

So you see, I do love anime. Everything happens for a reason, because Nehemia orchestrated everything into the misleads, misunderstandings, her own murder, and basically everything else. That reminds me, at one point, I hated Nehemia because of what she said to Dorian about how Celaena and Chaol will never understand the burden behind the royals, and I was like “oh shut up Nehemia. Oh and, Irony!”

The style of writing when Celaena went mad and tried to kill Chaol, killed Grave and Archer played vividly in my mind, and that takes a good writer in order to allow that scene, the movements and expressions to be played in a reader’s mind. (well, i guess my imagination contributes but oh well). As Maas has said in interviews, she acts out every move that she writes, and I think that is an excellent way to write a book, and therefore the wonderfulness.

He’d realized it the moment Celaena turned to him in Nehemia’s bedroom.
He had lost her.
And she would never, in a thousand lifetimes, let him in again.

Heartbreaking in every single way.

Oh, I forgot to mention how cute Mort is. And then Celaena started to figure out the riddle in the tomb, along with Baba Yellowlegs coming in and basically telling her everything, and I was like *OMG. I need a minute to process this magicness*.

“Because I have nowhere else to go.”

Aw. That friendship development.

AND FOR THE FINAL PARAGRAPH OF B.S. tbh this isn’t even a review. It’s legit a go-over-the-plot. WHEN THE BIG REVELATION CAME ALONG, WITH CHAOL FINDING OUT CELAENA SARDOTHIEN = AELIN ASHRYVER GALATHYNIUS. O M G.


Ashryver Eyes
The fairest eyes, from legends old
Of brightest blue, ringed with gold.

HOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

SUSPENSE BE LIKE

MAAS DID AN EXEXEXEXEXEXCELLENT JOB AT GIVING ALL US FANS AN EXTREME CLIFFHANGER WITH CELAENA BEING THE LOST HEIR TO TERRASSEN, AND OHHHH EMMMM GEEEEE I DON’T EVEN KNOWW WHAT TO TALK ABOUT RIGHT NOW.


Once again, thank you all who have stuck with me and my shit (everything above this sentence). Talking about Crown of Midnight, I’ll share a few proud things this year with you:

  1. I have discovered not ONE, but TWO, SARAH J. MAAS FANS in my year. (classmates) I was so happy, and then basically we’re always fangirling about how awesome Sarah’s books are.
  2. Because I was reading ToG series at school, I got my good friend Charlotte to start reading the series, and when she finished one book, she was like “I’m going on to the next one.”
  3. My good friend Karis, also from school, sent me an Instagram message of Charlie Bowater being superduper happy with Sarah’s new book announcement. I was like: “Karis you’re such a lovable person, you look out for me. Also, I would love you even more if you read ToG.” and so Karis was like: “I will be reading ToG because of tumblr.”

AND OF COURSE I WENT SSSQQQUUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE


Thank you. :)

One thought on “Book Review: Crown of Midnight – Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

