Book Review: Heir of Fire – Sarah J. Maas

I’m officially calling this BookReview(fangirling)Marathon. Welcome to Review 3. Basic run through:

  1. basic statistics of the book.
  2. blurb from the back of the book, feat. book cover(s).
  3. cover design comment.
  4. The review!

Caution: This Review contains SPOILERS! If you don’t want any spoilers, Click HERE


2061347072486_original

Name: Heir of Fire
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Release Date: September 2, 2014

Blurb from US edition

Celaena Sardothien has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak, but at an unspeakable cost. Now she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth…a truth about her heritage that could change her life—and her future—forever.

Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. To defeat them, Celaena must find the strength not only to fight her inner demons but to battle the evil that is about to be unleashed.

The king’s assassin takes on an even greater destiny and burns brighter than ever before in this third book in the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series.


Book Cover Comments

US Edition

It’s kind of sad that this time, Celaena didn’t use her outfit from the book cover. And I feel like the outfit seems too manly-ish. And in my opinion, the outfit looks like the Terracotta Army by this famous Chinese Emperor who was obsessed with having horse and soldier statues buried with him. Click on that sentence to hyperlink to Wikipedia. Thank god they made the background a glow effect from lime to green, so we can see Celaena clearly. The opaque 3D font is still outshining.

Same same with the side, but the color is so, yellow lime, I can’t tell between CoM and HoF unless I look at the “bloomsbury.com” thing on the back cover.

The back is quite tragic. They threw green spray paint onto Celaena, so other than her face and her existent bow, I literally can’t see shit.

UK/AUS Edition

As for the UK edition, we have the white background, this time with a emerald-turquoise green aura and then Terracotta Celaena. AND GUESS WHAT, THANK GOD THE FONT DIDN’T FALL OFF, BECAUSE BLOOMSBURY USED A GOOD MATERIAL FOR THE WORD PRINTING.

One thing I noticed with the UK editions is that for the cover copyrights, other than Talexi drawing the Celaenas, apparently the plain backgrounds and auras are from Shuttersock. Lol.

As for the back, green background, A FULL VERSION OF CELAENA, AND I CAN SEE EVERYTHING. THE GORGE DRESS, ETC. So it’s always nice to have a copy of UK edition around even though you can find the illustration online.


The Actual Review

Heir of Fire was even wow. Maas once said that Heir of Fire was the book of her soul. I think I quite agree. This review is so long I cut down a lot of parts.

First of all, we say hello to Aedion Ashryver. The hot guy version of Aelin.

“They were Celaena’s eyes. Ashryver eyes.”

Lol. “Aelin is Alive.” that changes everything. Bold move Chaol! Point for you! It was so sweet to see when Aedion thinks about Aelin, will she forgive him for what Aedion did, and when Aelin thought the same stuff, I was like, awwwwwwwww.

And when Celaena and Rowan gets together and heal each other and start spending time with each other (cus Rowan understands how sad Celaena’s life was before, especially her time in Endovier, and how strong she actually is), I’m like :3333333 Maas has put in never-ending elements that allows Celaena to face what happened in her past, around her, and how to face her fears and events that shattered her. And it is that where one person grows up to live the next day. So of course it was nice to see Rowan helping her grow out of her shell.
“What are you doing?”
“What?”
“To that girl. What are you doing that makes her come in here with such emptiness in her eyes?”

OH Emrys THAT WAS SO SWEET.

Perhaps they would never get out of it, perhaps they would never be whole again, but…”Together,” she said, and took his outstretched hand.
And somewhere far and deep inside her, and ember began to glow.

AW. AND I’M JUST AT PART ONE.

“You cannot pick and choose what parts of her to love.”

ALL HAIL DORIAN HAVILLIARD. That was so true in every single way. I cannot. Maas does not only provide us readers with wonderful writing style and scenes, she also gives us wonderful quotes that is so meaningful, it’s unbelievable. I can’t even describe how I feel.

All that development between Rowan and Aelin after he saw her back :333333333333

Fireheart.

GODS. THE WAR CAME ALONG. And I totally call this Heir of Fire’s ultimate finale. The war development, Aelin losing control and then she started her journey of confronting her past. It was amazing I cannot. Maas has did a great job of building the world and past of Aelin Ashryver Galathynius, and now that she has overcame it by never giving up, always standing up, she is more powerful than she ever is. And not only that. Rowan might not be her mate, but they are CARRANAM. It was so heartwarming and beautiful, I sob in my heart. (I ain’t that sentimental so I can’t cry)

She was Aelin Ashryver Galathynius–and she would not be afraid.

Gods above. I haven’t even started on Manon and Dorian.


Manon Blackbeak. I don’t even know what to say since I have so much BS written down above that line above this sentence. Manon is such a cool and strong character, its just so ahhhhhhhh!!!! ANd then Abraxos and the spidersilk. LOVE LOVE LOVE. Manon’s thirteen (her entourage lol) is like woooohoooooooo! And it’s the contrasts between the entourage and her that makes things really interesting. And of course the blackbeak witches are the coolest.

Tbh, the first time I read it, I got a little bit confused when all of a sudden a whole new character got introduced, but it was all for the sake of QoS. And then when I reread HoF, I enjoyed it even more than the first time I read it. It was absolutely wonderful to see Manon paired up with Abraxos, sending the message of “even those who seem weaker can be stronger.”

I also never mentioned the fact that Maas using a POV switching style allows you to explore more of this certain character, and that it’s really creative, and… who knows. Amazing.

Dorian. Oh Dorian.
I crie for Sorscha, but I’m so glad Dorian and Sorscha had a relationship because Dorian really needed it, and both of them trying to control Dorian’s magic. Sorscha is really sweet and the fact that she uses all she can and risks all she has in order to help Dorian.


There’s so much more I can say but is impossible to put down in words, I don’t even know what to say. There are so many parts where the characters grow, and its that grow that makes us readers swoon over them and eventually love them even more, as well as the never-ending climaxes and events that happen in the book <3<3<3

Feel free fangirl with me over any book by Sarah J. Maas. I’m like, dying. Of course.
Thanks for reading!!!

One thought on “Book Review: Heir of Fire – Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

