Book Review: Finding Audrey – Sophie Kinsella

Welcome to my fourth book review of my BookReviewathon. I’ve had three SJMaas books, and I thought I’d do something else before going on to QoS and Assassin’s Blade.

  1. basic statistics of the book.
  2. blurb from the back of the book, feat. book cover(s).
  3. cover design comment.
  4. The review!

finding2baudrey2bcover2bjpeg

Name: Finding Audrey
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Publisher: DOUBLEDAY
Release Date: June 9, 2015

Blurb from My copy

Audrey can’t leave the house. She can’t even take off her dark glasses inside the house.

Then her brother’s friend Linus stumbles in to her life. With his friendly, orange-slice smile, and his funny notes, he starts to entice Audrey out again — well, Starbucks is a start. And with Linus at her side, Audrey feels like she can do things she’d thought were too scary.

Suddenly, finding her way back to the real world seems achievable.

Be prepared to laugh, dream and hope with Audrey as she learns that even when you think you have lost yourself, love can still find you . . .

#FindingAudrey


Book Cover Comments

Ok. If you’ve seen Finding Audrey on Goodreads, you will see a billion publishers that bought rights to Finding Audrey. But for English, it mainly comes in the one you see above, with the minor alterations being the cover above, but yellow switched with green, and another fancy one (please go find yourself).

This book is V cute I cannot. I also love the color theme of yellow and green, cus the two of them definitely go super well together. Audrey and her sunglasses are definitely the key things in this book, and I love it. The green stripes takes up most of it, but I think the simplicity makes it look gorgeous.

The side is Sophie’s name and the book title in a blocky cute yellow font with Audrey’s head between em’.

The back has sort of a bookmark design with a few quotes, and its those quotes that acted as part of what captivated my attention to get this book. Yes. This is one of those books that I did not order online from BookDepo. I actually got this from Hong Kong. The most surprising thing ever. Also, at the bottom of the back, there are two starbucks cups with “Audrey” and “Linus”, so it’s cute.

Also, my edition comes with a keep-one-give-one bookmark set, and it’s V cute.


The Actual Review

Finding Audrey is actually such an important book to me.
Because, after I’ve read this book, I knew that I could now step into the world of YA to read more YA books, and I will never be afraid of thick books with no pictures again, so I really wanna thank Sophie Kinsella for creating such a wonderful book.

In this book, Sophie uses different formats of communications and POVs, from the regular perspective of Audrey, Audrey’s video camera and the notes between Audrey and Linus. They’re all super cute, I just, awwwwwwww.

OK, so here’s a life lesson. Don’t try fixing a birthday cake with ketchup. Tipp-Ex would have been better.

The scene that included the sentence above was one of my favourite scenes.

Sophie never stops in this book with all the humor and climax-humors. It’s just all too realistic, which makes it super cool and awesome, as well as the existence of stock characters. OMG and the reference to L.O.L. (League of Legends). The mum is this book is absolute legend. Read the book, and you’ll know why. I’m not going to spoil you here.

We didn’t win. Not only did we not win, we were stomped.
I think Mum was genuinely shocked. I think she’d mentally checked us in for the finals and the six-million-dollar prize pot, with her lording it over all the other parents.

I couldn’t stop laughing and chuckling at these parts. I don’t even understand how Sophie can actually think of such funny stuff. And its not only the comedy. Ain’t leavin’ out the sweet parts:

I clink my coffee cup against his. “Miss Audrey is heading for the stars.”

This was the quote featured on the bookmark I was talking about. :333333

And last but not least, one of the most beautiful endings I have ever seen:

A pause – then she gives the most dazzling, radiant smile.
As she comes close to turn off the camera, Audrey’s blue eyes loom large, filling the screen. She blinks a couple of times, then winks at the camera.
Audrey:
See you.

It was so beautiful, I didn’t even know what to say. Talking about beautiful, there were so many parts in this book where you see Audrey grow out of her shell and eventually becoming a whole new person. I really enjoyed to see her struggles in life as well as those around her helping her out, and becoming one big family.

This book is very enjoyable, and its definitely the perfect book for those who need a little boost to grow out of their shell (it actually helped me), as well as those looking for a little Slice of Life. <3 <3 <3

Leave a Reply

