Book Review: Graceling – Kristin Cashore

For once, this is a book that is a fresh read, not an old read and then reviewed. Lol. So I guess this ain’t part of my BookReviewathon haha.

Btw, check out my YouTube page, as I updated it with my new video about TOG Series!


graceling_cover
Name: Graceling
Author: Kristin Cashore
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Release Date: October 1, 2008
Yes I know it’s not new at all

Blurb from My copy

Katsa has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since she was eight–she’s a Graceling, one of the rare people in her land born with an extreme skill. As niece of the king, she should be able to live a life of privilege, but Graced as she is with illing, she is forced to work as the king’s thug.

When she first meets Prince Po, Graced with combat skills, Katsa has no hint of how her life is about to change.
She never expects to become Po’s friend.
She never expects to learn a new truth about her own Grace–or about a terrible secret that lies hidden far away…


Book Cover Comments

It’s quite nice. One of those covers where it’s finally not a human XD
So the cover comes with a really fancy and like, old parchment paper background which is cool. Then there’s the dagger, not sure who’s (which character) dagger it is, but the cool thing is, the blade sorta shines, and you can see half of Katsa’s face on it. The font Graceling and the author’s name pops out, and its quite cool.

The side is a fancy fantasy magical book bind style background, with the book title in pop up golden words, and the dagger from the cover miniaturized, with Katsa’s eye there, sorta weird but ok.

Simple back, nice and clear, lots of text XD


The Actual Review

Tbh I don’t know how to do a fresh review lol. Let’s begin by pausing my music.

Graceling is indeed a rich book that is spellbinding in it’s own way. The magic, minor politics involved, romance (my fav) is all really cool. The fact that there was a map makes it even cooler.

In Graceling, Katsa is a really selfless character who is willing to sacrifice herself and definitely put others before her. I’ve seen that in her interaction with this certain girl, and the parts where they were together were really wonderful. Again not gonna spoil what happens.

Prince Po is, what do I say, professional. Once again I won’t spoil anything about him. His name just reminds me of Mr. POe from a Series of Unfortunate Events, Unfortunately XXD (no hate on puns plz)

In this book, Kristin allows us to learn different concepts about how to face life in the form of the book Graceling, for example, discovering the definition of love, betrayals and trusting in each other, as well as what is a secret to keep or not. She discovers a lot of these themes, and I was really inspired by the tale told by her through this story, through Katsa, that I really loved it. It also includes other key areas regarding topics such as marriage and who do you belong to if you were married, as well as the fact of accepting who you are and what you are made of. Not only that, its also where Katsa discovers how to not be controlled.

With so many themes explored, I thought it was really wonderful, with all the adventures and conflicts going on.

Gonna spoil you a little bit, Katsa and this certain girl had to go through these rough icy mountains, and I thought that part was super cool. This book was really descriptive in terms of these wild terrains, and the methods of survivals were really awesome as well.

I really wished more of the ending would go on instead of just stop at a point and let the reader determine the rest of the main character’s future, but of course, it’s the author’s choice. I actually also found the beginning a little bit confusing. But when Po came in, things got interesting XD

I also thought the killing bits were really detailed, but some of the parts were sorta rushed and I hope it could be slowed down a bit.

I’d love to spoil this book but I can’t haha.
(What was I going to say?)
(Crap I forgot)

OH. YES.
Let me tell you: one of the things I look for in books with possible Romance developments is scenes and sections that will actually make my heart ache.

This book did it. So well. I give it a 100/100 for that. And, I love it a lot.

Graceling is definitely worth a read if you wanna take things slow and have a little bit of romance and if you enjoy being out in the snow and running away from kings and facing kings and understanding who you really are and accept others.

Leave a Reply

