Book Review: Queen of Shadows (Spoiler Free)

This Review is Spoiler Free! If you want to read the 100% spoiler version, Click HERE


18006496tumblr_inline_nl2ecv45gp1t2zl0y

Name: Queen of Shadows
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Release Date: September 1, 2015

 

Blurb from the official website

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her to regain her throne. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

Celaena’s epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena’s story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.


Book Cover Comments

US Edition

HOLY

FRICKIN

GOD

DID I MENTION HOW BADDASS AELIN LOOKS I WAS LIKE HOLY CRAP
Aelin’s suit is just holy frickin god its soooooo cooolll and we see the wonderful Damaris sword (at least i assume it is i’m not sure tho) The cape is gorgeous, and Aelin’s face is just naeodjasfkldgjbksjf

The back is dead gorgeous, with Aelin’s butt being sort of out of proportion hahahaha and then the baddass dragon, and the crimson read be like <3<3<3

UK Edition

It’s not as powerful as US edition, but its also dead forgeous with the blue aura at the back, and RIP BECAUSE THIS IS THE BOOK WITH THE MOST SERIOUS FONT PIGMENT FALLING ISSUE.

The back has a pure blue background, and I found it really SWEET.


The Actual Review

Heir of Fire is deep.
But Queen of Shadows, is even more AMAZING.

“Let’s go rattle the stars.”

The entire book is, even after I reread is, is awesome as ever. I don’t think I can ever write a review AND make this spoiler free, because this book be like holy crap.

“Do this small thing for me–and let me lay the world at your feet.”

One thing Sarah rocks at, is definitely when she writes battle scenes. The details, movements, it takes an amazing writer in order to imagine those scenes. Now, Sarah IRL seems like a super nice person, but deep down inside, does she have really deep and dark thoughts? Hmmm…. MAYBE.

She was a whirling cloud of death, a Queen of Shadows, and these men were already carrion.

Can I also please talk about the part where Celaena went to rescue her other side of the same coin? Accepting each other’s pasts and becoming one coin, if you get what I mean XD Oh gods. This person cares so so so so so much about Celaena, and I seriously find this family relationship wonderful, but for some reason impractical, maybe because it just ain’t gonna happen with my cousins XD I mean, my closest cousin (my generation of course. not the younger generations, aka kids of my cousins) my closest male cousin is like what, (i don’t even know how old he is) 23 maybe? And so we’re 7 years apart. Ok it’s not that bad, but we don’t hang out like hell. Lol.

A smile tugged at her lips, and her eyes–their eyes–sparkled.

It was also really beautiful and heartbreaking at the same time to see Chaol grasp onto what he could hold on, to see him learn and realize, what he had lost, why he had lost, and his beliefs. And in the end, it was really beautiful to see Chaol finally grow and understand and learn to accept every person’s every single aspect. To me, Chaol is one of those people that represents an extreme true aspect of life. Running away from things you don’t wanna face and hear, and learning to accept it, and that is what it’s all about.

A monster, he’d called her weeks ago. He had believed it, and allowed it to be a shield against the bitter tang of disappointment and sorrow.
He was a fool.

There was one scene when Celaena plays the piano with all her heart to Rowan from Heir of Fire, Rowan actually cried. That’s the sweetest and truest emotion I have seen in ages. And through the piano scene, Sarah really reminds me how strong and powerful music is, how each song sends a message, with the person playing it having the ability to alter the mood. And right now I’m listening to this really beautiful violin music. Unfortunately I can’t seem to find it on YouTube, but it is 黒猫のセレナーデ (Serenade of the Black Cat) from the anime Shugo Chara.

And for a moment, she wondered how another young woman’s life woud have been different if she ahd stopped to talk to her–really talk to Kaltain Rompier, instead of dismissing her as a vapid courtier.

And then we need to talk about girl power. Celaena got back together and mended the relationship between her and this girl in her past. I love seeing mendings.

“Please, you and I are nothing buy wild beasts wearing human skins. Don’t even try to deny it.”

Did I mention there are a billion things to talk about in Queen of Shadows? I’m trying to remember the details without looking at the book XD

He was the most powerful full-blooded Fae male alive. And his scent was all over her. Yet she had no gods-dammed idea.

Life is about forgiving, and thats the true essence of life that Sarah is able to touch upon.

I dare because it is my blood to give away; I dare because you did not exist for me then. Even if neither of you had taken it yet, I would still give it to him because he is my carranam, and he has earned my unquestioning loyalty!”
A small part of him understood why his cousin had offered the prince the blood oath.

Skipping every single sort of detail that occured in the book, let’s get the the master final battle in QoS.

That gods-damned nightgown.
Shit.
He was in such deep, unending shit.

before that, I don’t understand why I can’t write Queen of Shadows review as my English essay, because I would have no worries with the word count. 827 words up to this point, and I struggle to fit the word count requirement of 800 words in my essays XD (P.S. that was high school 1st year standard)

“You make me want to live. Not survive, not exist. Live.
They joined hands.
So the world ended.
And the next one began.
They were infinite.
They were the beginning and the ending; they were eternity.
The darkness shattered against a wall of fire.
“Maybe I don’t want to be that person anymore,” he said. That person–that stupidly loyal, useless person–had lost everything. His friend, the woman he loved, his position, his honor. Lost everything, wiht only himself to blame.
“I kept thinking about you might never know that I missed you with only an ocean between us. But if it was death separating us… I would find you. I don’t care how many rules it would break. Even if I had to get all three keys myself and open a gate, I would find you again. Always.”

Please listen to “Love is MY RAIL” by Konomi Suzuki from Page 433 ~ 437.


I haven’t said anything about Manon Ironteeth Blackbeak.

But she had not missed the words–this world. Not this land, not this continent.
This world.

Sarah had also said that Manon grew in this book.
And I couldn’t agree more.

The message had only been one sentence.
Payment for a life debt.
One sentence just for her; one sentence that changed everything.

Manon started to question the tasks she was given. She started to go against her grandmother’s will and throw away her pride. From the moment where she had to decide, to the moments where she observed a lifeless girl trapped inside her own body, controlled by something else, to the point where she went through the arguments with her crew.

Manon gazed westward across the mountains. Hope, Elide had said–hope for a better future. For a hume.
Not obedience, brutality, discipline. But hope.

Manon then understood the cruelties that happened, and how the fact that she refused to listen and accept, as well as her pride, had indirectly caused someone else’s pain. And Manon changed.

“Do you believe monsters are born, or made?”
From what she’d seen today, she would say some creatures were very much born evil. But what Manon was asking…”I’m not the one who needs to answer that question,” Elide said.

Then Elide Lochan came into place. And it is because of Elide, I can clearly see Manon’s heart gaining the emotion and human-ness in her. Elide helped her along the way when Manon has doubts, and Manon knew how important Elide had become, and had learnt to gain the will to protect her, saw how brave she was.

Here it was again, that tug–toward Manon, whose arms buckled as she collapsed to the stone.

There was this moment where I understood the role of Manon in Heir of Fire. One of it was to prepare for this moment when Manon crosses paths with another character from the main crew.

She had saved her life. Manon didn’t know what to make of it.
For she now owed her enemy a life debt.

It’s so hard to not make this not spoil because my review isn’t even a review. It’s legit a plot recap lol.

Soon enough–soon enough she would find true purpose, and then she would howl her wrath at the moon. She’d forgotten the name she’d been given, but it made no difference. She had only one name now:
Death, devourer of worlds.
She unleashed her shadowfire upon them all.
This was not the ghost of shadowfire they had made her kill with–but the real thing. The fire she had harbored since magic had returned–golden flame now turned to black.

“What do I do?”
“She had to swallow before she said. “You light up the darkness.”

You know, I can seriously how this series can legit end in four books. But Sarah doesn’t stop there. She decides to taunt us even more by making two more wonderful books. And there are 41 days left to Empire of Storms by the time I typed this out.

This entire book was amazing in every single way, from forgiveness to understanding to love to friendship to mending, to war, to freedom, and to hope.

And to the bravery that came from Fireheart that made me become a whole new person.


She was fire, and light, and ash, and embers. She was Aelin Firehart, and she bowed for no one and nothing, save the crown that was hers by blood and survival and triumph.
One thought on “Book Review: Queen of Shadows (Spoiler Free)

Leave a Reply

