Book Review: Before the Snow – Danielle Paige

Goodness gracious I’m loving this prequel so much, I think I’ll need prequel #2 and actual book #1 A.S.A.P.


static1.squarespace
Name: Before the Snow
Author: Danielle Paige
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Format: e-book
Release Date: July 26, 2016

 

Blurb from Goodreads

Enter a world of elemental magic, forbidden romance, and betrayal in this prequel to New York Times bestselling author Danielle Paige’s upcoming Stealing Snow.

Young Nepenthe is half-princess, half-mermaid. Though she longs for the sea, her father wants her to stay on land. But only love can make a mermaid give up the water, and Nepenthe doesn’t love anyone the way her mother loves her human father. She wants to live as a mermaid and become the River Witch, like her mother.

Then Nepenthe meets Prince Lazar, the son of the all-powerful Snow King of Algid, and she can’t help but fall for him. After a horrible tragedy strikes, Nepenthe joins forces with a young fire witch named Ora to save Lazar and protect the kingdom. But it soon becomes clear that Ora loves Lazar just as much as Nepenthe does… And now Nepenthe must decide: inherit the power of the River Witch, or betray her friend to be with the boy she loves.

And Nepenthe’s role in the prophecy is only just beginning. . . In the future, she is destined to cross paths with a girl named Snow, who will have the power to change Algid forever-for better, or for worse.


(e)Book Cover Comments

 

It’s classical for Bloomsbury to have an ok-cover for a prequel novella, but it doesn’t mean it’s bad. I like it.

The purple and white gradient background is one of my favourite snow colour palettes, the snowflake on the background is also really pretty and I love snowflakes.

Though, I’d love the blue and purple to be a more lighter, icier, and pastel shade, since that’s more of an ice thing XD


The Actual Review

Ok. Holy crap.
This was just the prequel, and I’m already loving it.
I haven’t read something like this in quite awhile, and I need more.

Danielle kicks off the book with the prophecy that will relate to the entire prequel, the upcoming prequel and the first book, and it is with those prophecies where it kicks people’s minds to start thinking about what part of the story fits into the prophecy, and what will happen. And that is EXACTLY what is happening to me.

The three witches, Wood, River and Fire witches are introduced in this prequel, along with the Snow Prince. I’m loving the fact that there are these elemental users, because I have a thing for elements. Speaking of which, the first thing that came to my mind when I had to imagine the Witch of the Wood in my mind was one of the Clow Cards from Cardcaptor Sakura. And I’ll show you guys my inspiration for these magical users as well XD


tumblr_inline_ntcct2hgm11t9bgrb_25048a63b07ec507e0e58ee72edcbce2ad7Forgive me if she looks too kind. But I like it :P And no doubts, she’s my Witch of the Woods.

Below is the wonderful Witch of the Fire, my inspiration being Galaxia from Sailor Moon. I think you guys all know my decision from her hair :)

4686808433_aa791e7fa3

 

 

Now, I didn’t choose a particular great inspiration for the mother Witch of the River, since she doesn’t play a major role in this book. Instead, I’ll show you guys my inspiration for the NEW Witch of the River, a.k.a. our heroine Nepenthe. She was inspired from Lucy Aoi in Freezing, and I apologise if I chose her because she looks icy and blue, and i didn’t choose a blond hair girl.Lucy.Renault.600.1850046.jpg

I know, I know, Lucy on the left ain’t a suitable Nepenthe, so let me show you how I imagine Nepenthe when she’s in her water form. Sorry I abolished the tentacles, but I was desperate with my own imagination. Watery from Cardcaptor Sakura.44268961

316565_1256262748353_full

 

 

 

 

 


Other than loving the elemental magic users in this novella, what I really really really really really love about this book, is all the heartachings it gave me. I, LOVE HAVING HEART ACHES WHEN I READ PARTS OF THE BOOK THAT IS RELATED TO SOME SORT OF RELATIONSHIP, AND DANIELLE HAS SATISFIED MY NEEDS.

I also loved seeing the irony between relationships. It was really interesting to think about why this character would think this way, how the irony happened, and if there’s another route out of it.

Did I tell you how much I loved it when the first part of the prophecy started fitting into place? Puzzle piece mechanism 101.


I’m not going to spoil you, but Danielle came up with the genius plot twist ever yet. It came out gradually so that the readers could see it when that part came, and I still couldn’t believe what happened. I was like OH-EM-GEE. NO WAY. I haven’t read any of Danielle’s books before, but this is already making me love her writing style of knowing how to squeeze my heart and making it ache at certain scenes, and how to leave my mind in shock with plot twisters.

And when Amazon’s blurb said that Nepenthe will cross paths with Snow, who’s the heroine in the first upcoming book “Stealing Snow”, I was like OMG I’m SO READY.


I cannot wait for the next book, and this is a MUST-READ for all you fantasy+element+magic lovers.

Hope you enjoyed my review!

snowflake-wallpaper-2

 

Leave a Reply

