Book Review: Reawakened – Colleen Houck

Welcome to another one of my book reviews!

Reawakened is my second favourite book series after Throne of Glass. This was one of those books that dragged me into drowning in the Sea of Books, and I thank it so much.

And, in celebration for the release of Book 2, Recreated, I’m going to be doing this non-fresh-read, BookReviewathon Review!!!


17331819
Name: Reawakened
Author: Colleen Houck
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Release Date: August 11, 2015

Synopsis

When seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young enters the Metropolitan Museum of Art one morning during spring break, the last thing she expects to find is a live Egyptian prince with godlike powers, who has been reawakened after a thousand years of mummification.

And she really can’t imagine being chosen to aid him in a quest that will lead them across the globe.

But fate has taken hold of Lily, and she, along with her sun prince, Amon, must travel to the Valley of the Kings, raise his brothers from the dead, and stop an evil, shape-shifting god named Seth from taking over the world. All before the next full moon.

From New York Times bestselling author Colleen Houck comes an epic adventure about two star-crossed teens who must battle mythical forces and ancient curses on a journey with more twists and turns than the Nile itself.


Book Cover Comments

From the image, it doesn’t seem really outstanding. BUT FROM THE PHYSICAL COPY, Hardback to be specific, you’ll see that the cover has a shiny surface that makes everything much more gorgeous. The beautiful eye, the falcon on the four corners, the symmetry style, and the hieroglyphics around the eye. The entire is in the theme color of Egyptian: gold, turquoise, blue, gorgeous.

The side is that gorgeous star like gradient shiny blue and green background with the eye and the book name on it, and the back is the hieroglyphic dial without the eye, and a mysterious intro for readers to get sucked into.

Not that I chose this book cus of any of what I blabbed above. My dad chose it for me lol.


The Actual Review

FOR PETE’S SAKE IT’S BEEN SO LONG I DON’T KNOW WHAT TO SAY.

THIS BOOK, IS ULTIMATELY ULTIMATE.

“The sun makes us feel strong, Young Lily. As I am bound to it, you are bound to me.”

Another reason why I’ve had such a great impression with this book is because I’ve been to those places mentioned in the book, both New York and Egypt, and I can play it really well in my mind. The places described in this place, the setting chosen was all really fitting to the theme of the book, and I absolutely loved it. I pictured it like no other can, and I was immediately sucked into this book.

“Every living thing does. Your true name represents your ideal self. The person you are at the center. The name that is engraved upon your heart.”

This book is full of adventure and romance, it’s literally my perfect combination. All the details and well thought plot, I enjoyed this book from top to bottom. Though this not might be the perfect cup of tea for you if you’re looking for more conflict, but I thought this book was great in it’s own way, sweet in it’s own way, and beautiful in it’s own way. I forgot to mention the beautiful quotes. You’ll see them around this review post.

But even though I can list hundreds of reasons to abandon my call, there is one very pressing reason why I keep doing it millennium after millennium.
“And what reason is that?”
I love my brothers.

I was so obsessed with this book, you should have seen how many fanarts I’ve made for it. I even used my silver-necklace-making-in-Bali quoter for Reawakened. I’ll make a fanart category soon so you guys can see what I do.

Come.
Tell me what your heart wishes for and I will fly to the farthest star to bring it back to you.
The incorporation of legends and mythologies from Ancient Egypt, the details in writing all of these sections, and I am so proud to see the places in Egypt so well written. I am a big fan of Egyptian mythology, and I am quite sensitive to this area. Though Colleen had shifted how the myths turned out in the end, the book was still quite accurate, and I was like WOAH.
“Lily.” Ahmose called out.
“If he does not feel that way, then he is a fool.”

Lilliana is a really beautiful character, and she is really lovely and caring. I seriously love her so much, and I find her quite cute sometimes. The desire for romance, an adventure. She left Egypt being empty and loss after such a great adventure that she never expected herself to have.

The stars whisper the will of the cosmos.
The moon fills the air with thrumming power.
The sun uncovers all hidden pathways
and exposes all that is secret and shadow.

Amon, selfless, thoughtful, brave, but at the same time it’s really sad. He has to keep on living in order to save the World, when it was not under his own will. And his mysterious best friends not going to spoil you who they are. They feel the same way, and understand him. I find this brotherhood relationship really important in supporting each other.

“Eternity is a long time to exist without something to remember”

Each mysterious best friend is special in their own way, and has their own charm, and I love them as much as I love Amon. Both of them sees thing Amon does not, which is what makes them support each other. And some of them has said the best quotes ever that I literally smile at it when I look at it.

“You are mine–my Nehabet–a rare desert flower that blooms in the waters of the oasis.”

Can I also talk about the plot twist in the end and the enemies? They were SUPER DUPER COOL, and I did not expect the villain to be that way. It was like WOW. KEWL. OMG I DID NOT SEE IT COMING. And I seriously loved all the parts where each important immortal male gets “Reawakened” in order to fulfil their task. Each rescue took bravery and courage for Lilliana to face, as it wasn’t the best thing you’d want to see happen, a mummy coming back alive.

I’d also love to talk about the final battle.
I’ve seen many authors sort of rush through the final battles and gets to the conclusion really quickly, but for this, I thought though it was fast paced, there was so many moments that were slowed down during the ending, and I found it really really beautiful. Especially when there was a part with a beautiful object in the sky, and at the same time I was listening to the perfect music (I by Taeyeon feat. Verbal Jint), and it was as if I could see it right in front of me.

There were some hints to later parts of books, and I love seeing these easter eggs when I reread it. There was one that hit me really hard but I’m not going to spoil it for you. For those of you who have read the book, it’s page 314. It was a great hint to something that happened later.

Can I also say that the fact that Colleen gives chapters names is really interesting, because sometimes they’re hints to what is happening in the plot when you have no idea what the plot is about XD

Colleen also gets 100 marks for heart aching scenes. There were tons of those where I saw some conflict or sweet part, and then get a heart ache because it was so sweet or heartbreaking.

The ending is definitely the most heartbreaking, because Lilliana and Amon will have to say goodbye for now, but of course, there’s a reason why book 2 exists, and you’ll all know why. I thought the ending was both sweet and heartbreaking, but I loved it so much because it has both the good and bad in it.

Can I also say how Reawakened would definitely be perfectly fine to be an individual book? But because Colleen loves her readers, we have a sequel. And I obviously need the sequel ASAP. I have already received a notification from Amazon that my book will be arriving on August 16. I need the sequel so badly, I’ve been waiting for an entire year, I seriously need it.

Any Romance and Adventure Lover will have to pick up this beautiful book no matter what you think.


I also wanna take this chance to thank Colleen Houck. Lily was the first step to having me become who I am today. A brave girl who is adventurous and is caring. Because Lily inspired me so much, I even went to have my hair dyed at least one shade of gold.

I wanted to do golden highlights but I thought that would look kinda odd, so I ended up having ombre, with the very ends being a gold than can be only seen under sunlight ;)

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy!

P.S. below is the necklace I said I made :P

75719ac439a45f9eeb7e05d485a109e7.jpg

Leave a Reply

