Book Review: The Star-Touched Queen – Roshani Chokshi

Another book review! Alright. Now, this was a recent read. Hehe.

Welcome to a review for a new debut author, Roshani Chokshi and her amazing work, the Star-Touched Queen.


9781250085474_custom-a406a5ef5e696fb5bb19c9e33206e2cf9dc8ba36-s400-c85
Name: The Star-Touched Queen
Author: Roshani Chokshi
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Release Date: April 26, 2016

Blurb from Hardcover

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. While Maya is content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets–thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must untravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most… including herself.

A lush and vivid story that is steeped in Indian folklore and mythology, The Star-Touched Queen is a novel that no reader will soon forget.


Book Cover Comments

IT’S.
BEAUTIFUL.

First of all, the metallic-matte-shine touch to the book cover just makes things really nice.

You see Maya in pink with a lamp by her side, in some place that looks like a desert, a country in front of her and the stars beneath her. The orange sky looks so pretty, and contrasts sooooo well with the stardust, and I love it. The borders on the book cover is also soooo gorgeous, I love it.

The landscape continues on to the side and background, and it’s really pretty.


The Actual Review

Gods above I don’t even know how to describe this book for the following reasons:
1. It’s been some time since I’ve read the book XD
2. It’s amazing.

Can I just say how utterly beautiful this book is? I still can’t bear the fact that I closed this book at the very last page.

From the beginning with Maya’s path and role in her kingdom: known as a curse of death to the countries around her, with likely no one who would desire to marry her off, to having her father secretly finding a solution to it, and with Amar bringing her to his country.

I could totally imagine how beautiful the Night Bazaar mentioned in the book was, and I could totally see how Naraka turned out to be. Mystic and beautiful.

The great place of development between characters was really nice to see. And I really enjoyed it when Maya gave Amar’s bff (i’m so sorry Roshani, I forgot his name) the three riddles. I had a hard time thinking them as well, and I’m pretty sure I messed up all the answers :P

P.S. the paragraph below is not spoilery because the blurb/intro says so already.

All I have to say, is that the love in this book is the most beautiful and purest form in any way. With Maya’s beautiful and loving reincarnations that happened across eons and what happened to a certain person’s past and this person’s sadness and fear, I thought that was really heartbreaking. My heart was clenching when it reached the part slightly before Part II, when some of the past in Naraka was revealed. When I saw how Maya had entered the Pool of Reincarnation, it somehow wasn’t for a good cause, and that part really broke my heart. My face was in like a sad expression even though I couldn’t cry.

It was really nice to see betrayal and confinement of truth in this book. I never saw that certain route coming to Maya. And I think Maya had made some really great choices in this book. And She definitely grew a lot from the beginning to the end. Maya was brave till the very end, and in the very end, she chose to trust her love over millennia, was absolutely absolutely amazing. It was sad to see what turned out to a good friend of Maya, and how in the end she became.

This book also reminded me about a few things in life: about how sometimes death is unavoidable, and you might lose someone really important. But in another life, you might meet that person again, and even if you don’t, that person might be happy in this life. That really reminds of of something Sailor Saturn said in Sailor Moon. And this other quote in Sailor Moon.

9def496f4e47915bdd373275d118bcbb16ca313d2a0acfd313d856d66bbb2468

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Beautiful isn’t it? And I think it’s very true, and what Roshani writes is beautiful and deep, and it truly reminds me of these. Something that will help those that will face it to cross over their barriers, and remind those that have faced it about a happy road that might exist.

The ending was absolutely breathtaking, I loved it so much. When I saw Maya finally seeing the results into her actions due to her strong love for Amar, I thought it was beautiful. And this time, this life won’t end so soon. It would last an eternity, until that world ends. And Maya finally saw what she could do, and did the best she can to finally save and protect what she missed and lost.

Can I also say the brilliant idea of the Tree of Naraka? I’m not going to say what it is, but I just found this tree and what it contains really beautiful and spectacular. I need to also mention the mythology involved in this book. Though it is not obvious and I don’t want to spoil readers what this book was infused with, I thought the magic and the stories were rich and beautiful along the way. Very Star-Touched indeed.


All the authors who commented on this book were all so true to what I felt in the very end. I was quite glad to see some of my fav. authors on there :P

And I will make my blurb as well:

Captivating from the very beginning to the very end, filled with beautiful love in it’s purest form.

 

Leave a Reply

