Book Review: Recreated – Colleen Houck

COLLEEN WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO ME YOU’RE GIVING ME A HUMONGOUS HANGOVER OMG IT’S ALMOST 2AM  AND I DON’T KNOW WHAT I’M DOING ANYMORE


recreated-e1470525103952Name: Recreated
Author: Colleen Houck
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Release Date: August 2, 2016

Blurb from Hardcover

Lily Young thought traveling across the globe with a reawakened Egyptian prince was a grand adventure. Now she’s about to embark on the journey of a lifetime.

When Amon and Lily part tragically, Amon transports himself to the Netherworld—what mortals call hell. Tormented by the loss of his one true love, he’d rather suffer in agony during Lily’s mortal years than fulfil his duty to protect humanity. Heartbroken, Lily seeks refuge on her grandmother’s farm. Yet she can feel Amon’s pain, and she has been having dreams—dreams of Amon continually suffering.

For before he departed, Amon gave Lily something very special, an item that connects them even though they are worlds apart. Now Lily must use this object to free him, and to release their realms from darkness and utter chaos. She is ready to do whatever it takes.

In Recreated, the powerful second book in Colleen Houck’s Reawakened series, Lily will be tested body and soul.


Book Cover Comments

GORGE, GORGE, GORGE.
I MEAN, CMON WHAT EGYPTIAN FAN DOESN’T LIKE THAT GOLD TURQUOISE AND BLUE PALETTE.

That eye is more than magnificent, and I see how the cover relates to so many aspects in the book. The sphinxes, the impossible triangle, and Isis’ wings. Those wings btw, are magnificent and gorgeous. ON POINT.

The back is the front without the eye, and I’m loving it so much.


The Actual Review

HHHAAAANNNNGGGGOOOVVVVVEEEERRRRRRRRR

A lot of you might see that this is not the book where there involves extreme deep relationships and where the entire world gets entangled. But it is because of that simple path where we get to see the entire adventure happen, and it is also of all the understanding and acceptance going on in this book that reminds me of Colleen’s writing style, and why I fell in love with the first book I read from her: Reawakened. (P.S. you can find it’s review from my “Review” page)

The truth was that as long as Lily held his heart, Amon would  fight. He was beholden to her; if she wanted him to press on, he would find a way.

Lucky you people, this review will be spoiler free, because I’ll be making a 100% SPOILER VIDEO REVIEW.

“Lilliana, Amon left the afterlife for you. And for you, he will return.”

From the very beginning of the story to the very end, this entire book is packed with Egyptian mythology, as well as involving one or two elements from Greek mythology and Scottish/Irish folklores. This book sticks even more true to the knowledge about Egyptian mythology that I know about.

But Amon lit a spark that I’d nurtured these last few months.

From all of the trials and judgements and decisions made in this book, Colleen doesn’t fail me at all. All of them were extremely beautiful, and its something that made me recall about my own life as well. It’s also something that makes me think why the Egyptians had the concept of the “Scale of Judgement”. It’s not something that anyone can face, where you have to confess all of your wrongdoings and face your past, so that you can move on to live a better life.

“I love you, Amon, and I have no regrets either,” I declared. “That includes doing what I have to do now. I will find a way to you. I promise.”

There are a few characters I will have to vent about, and I’ll try to keep this spoiler free.

“Being the Guardian of Dreams is a very weighty responsibility, especially when those dreams involve myself.”
Asten, the younger brother of Amon, is loveable. In every. Single. Way. His bravery, his willingness in front of the Scale of Judgement, utterly perfect and beautiful. I was actually tearing up when I got to the part where Asten assists Lily during the Scale of Judgement scene. (Hey theses peeps gotta go to Netherworld. I’m not spoiling you.) Some parts I get really confused, especially the last scene, and therefore I need book 3 to explain EVERYTHING to me.
“I didn’t stop Amon because”—Asten paused and looked at me—”because she loved him back.”

Ahmose, the older brother of Amon. He is so selfless, so caring. And his heart of forgiveness is one thing I adore. It is rare to find one such as him. All I’m going to keep on saying is caring and forgiving. Ahmose is the beautiful older brother, and I don’t even know what I’m saying anymore because I’m going through hangover.

“Asten has always been my brother.”
“In truth, I forgave him decades ago. “

Amon, oh Amon. His love for Lily has hurt him so much that he decides to trap himself in the Netherworld. He wishes for Lily to stay on Earth and be happy, but their love is inseparable. The bond that is shared between them is so strong, that Lily just had to find him one more time. There were so many parts where it was really painful for me to read. TTATT

“…That is the time when the Liberator will appear…”

Lily and Tia. The two of them just shows me how much this book taught me about what love is, what acceptance and respect is. Arguments, disagreements, working as one to become something even greater. Lily has indeed changed every fiber of what she was, and that includes how she thinks and how she acts. Lilliana and Lily, two completely different people. She grew so much in this book, I gotta say: Lily, you are indeed the best. I see her confusions at times and I really wish she could have just stuck with “one”, and therefore once again, the last part in the “Waters of Osiris” (not-yet-read-readers, i swear its not spoilery.), I still got confused, but by the end of it, I was in love and heartbroken.

Having Tia with me was like having a guardian angel who understood everything. Who accepted my strengths and weaknesses and was willing to stick with me and loan a supporting hand regardless of whatever trouble I found myself in.

Back to talking about the plot, I seriously have to praise Colleen’s ability to write something that no one has ever actually “seen” before. The duat and the underworld is definitely not an easy place to write, as there are only descriptions of it in old Egyptian records and the pure mind of imagination. Another writer I know that included writing imaginative places is Rick Riordan. Rick’s Kane Chronicles is a different message, with it being family and friends. How he describes Egyptian Mythology was also magnificient and was more true to what we know of. But it is Recreated where I fall in love more. Acceptance, bravery, belief, respect, all those different things packed into this book, and not to mention all the wonderful and absolutely beautiful emotions and lovely scenes, thoughts and romance that made me go into hangover stage. If you didn’t know I’m still dying right now. It’s been an hour since I finished the book and I still can’t think properly.

We spun in dizzying circles, linked together in an embrace so powerful, even the rushing squall that erupted around us couldn’t pull us apart.

COLLEEN WHY DID YOU HAVE TO DROP OFF THE ENDING LIKE THAT
I WAS LITEARLLY LIKE
WHAT NO WHAT NO WHY WHY WHY WHAT WHAT WHERE DID THAT EVIL WOMAN GO WHY IS LILY ACTING LIKE THIS
NO WHY ARE YOU JUST LEAVING ME OFF AT THE EPILOGUE WHY DID YOU KILL ME


Recreated is the best masterpiece that I have read so far from Colleen, a level up from Reawakened. Something much more valuable in so many ways, something that touches more upon thoughts and hearts, something much more beautiful in any single way.

75719ac439a45f9eeb7e05d485a109e7.jpg

Leave a Reply

