Book Review: The Jewel – Amy Ewing

Welcome back to BookReviewathon 101! I read The Jewel and it’s sequel back in February 2016, but because I love Amy Ewing so much, I just have to do a review.


51wp8lrlewl-_sx324_bo1204203200_


Name: The Jewel
Author: Amy Ewing
Publisher: Walker Books (US Ver: HarperTeen)
Release Date: September 2, 2014

Synopsis

The Jewel means wealth, the Jewel means beauty—but for Violet, the Jewel means servitude. Born and raised in the Marsh, Violet finds herself living in the Jewel as a servant at the estate of the Duchess of the Lake. Addressed only by her number—#197—Violet is quickly thrown into the royal way of life. But behind its opulent and glittering facade, the Jewel hides its cruel and brutal truth, filled with violence, manipulation, and death.

Violet must accept the ugly realities of her life . . . all while trying to stay alive. But before she can accept her fate, Violet meets a handsome boy who is also under the Duchess’s control, and a forbidden love erupts. But their illicit affair has consequences, which will cost them both more than they bargained for. And toeing the line between being calculating and rebellious, Violet must decide what, and who, she is willing to risk for her own freedom.


Book Cover Comments

 

Ok. Can I say it is because of that simplicity, that shattered glass like background that makes everything so sweet? And then we have Violet in a violet gown standing in the middle of the room, creating a perfect contrast. The word “Jewel” is printed in glossy gold, and its really shiny, with intricate designs. The two quotes on the cover gave me a super powerful impression, I knew I was going to pick it up.

The back has the same shattered glass background, and has the mysterious-but-short-awesome-synopsis. The rose on the floor that has gradient color is gorge.

I’ll give a basic comment on the HarperTeen ver cus that’s probably what most of you would get. The cover, though pale, looks really beautiful with Violet being inside the jewel, and then the gajillion reflections.


The Actual Review

When I first read this book, I thought it was AMAZING.

I’m trying my best to remember all the details cus it’s been 6 months since I’ve read it.

Let’s begin with:

OH, MY, GOD.

Definitely a taste of The Selection Series in The Jewel, but it is something different altogether. What Amy has constructed in this book with her version of a similar selection is way more interesting, way more deeper, and, it’s just deep.

Girls with special abilities from different circles in the Lone City are collected and acts as surrogates to develop their three special abilities. The three abilities are color, shape and grow. But don’t think its just developing abilities for nothing. At a certain time of the season, the girls with better scores will be taken to an auction, where different people will come to bid the girls, and the entire point of it is to carry a child for them.

Sounds brutal doesn’t it? But that is what made the story so interesting. Violet gets chosen by one of the Founding Houses, the Duchess of the Lake. And that is where her story begins. You do well, you get rewarded. You do bad, you get punished. And there were so many dynamics going on in the House of the Lake, you couldn’t believe it. And I have to say, I felt bad for Violet whenever she had to go for medical checkups, because that means that she will have to use her abilities. I’m saying a bit too much, so I’ll leave it to you users to imagine how the surrogates will have to use their abilities for childbirth.

For pete’s sake, the Duchess of the Lake is ABSOLUTELY BRUTAL. I won’t say how or what she did. She is. She’s a horrible person, our so called antagonist in this book. But a lot of the times, she is so unpredictable, sometimes I don’t even know what she will do or what will happen to Violet.

I feel really glad for Violet whenever she gets to see her BFF Raven, who was “adopted” by the House of the Stone at any social events. You can’t stick around for long if you’re separated too long from your BFF. And how they interact and what Violet sees in Raven is all really interesting.

Amy is a genius in giving me sweet heart aches, and from time to time, I’m always going back to Chapter 24 ~ 26. Because that’s where all the sweetness reaches Zenith, especially the last page of Chapter 26.

It’s tragic that I can’t spoil much of what I would like to say, so I shall do a BookTube video soon about The Jewel + The White Rose so Amy Ewing can listen to me fangirl with no shame and full of spoilers.

BTW, the ending was brutal. I was like WAIT WHAT NONONONONONONONOONONONONONONONONONONONOONON

Also Amy is a terrible person in terms of giving readers extreme cliffhangers. I was lucky enough to read Book 1 at the time Book 2 was out, and I was fortunate enough to be in a mega-bookstore and was fortunate enough to find the Book on the “Featured/Bestelling Bookshelf” of the YA section.

After The Jewel, I knew I had to go on to The White Rose.


 

With a devastating past, a cruel society, a brave heart and blooming romance, Amy Ewing steals away our hearts in The Jewel.

One thought on “Book Review: The Jewel – Amy Ewing

Leave a Reply

