Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs

Wow that’s one long title.

Yes people I do feel guilty for finishing this book in 4 days.


17162156

Name: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
Author: Ransom Riggs
Publisher: Quirk Books
Release Date: June 4th, 2013
First Release: June 7th, 2011

Synopsis

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs. It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that Miss Peregrine’s children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.


Book Cover Comments

 

Tbh it’s not that creepy. Ok it might seem its black and white with floating girl right there with a sad face, and that chalk font, but I coped with it. Probably because the regular elegant font and Peregrine’s face in white lines was calming.

I like the golden borders on the side. It’s super duper elegant.

The back is a plain ol’ background, which I never dislike cus they don’t make my eyes spin XD Can I also talk about the awesome Bonus features in this edition? The Q&A and peculiar photographs were really fun to read.


The Actual Review

Here’s a little piece of advice:

DO NOT WATCH THE PECULIAR TRAILER IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THIS BOOK. IT WILL RUIN YOU. IT RUINED ME WHEN I WAS READING THIS BOOK. OR JUST STICK TO THE TRAILER AND MOVIE.

As for how it was ruined, I’ll be making a video about it on YouTube soon, but it’ll be spoilery. I mean, it’s the inevitable if we wanna compare stuff, right? So read the book and you can go check out the YouTube review + movie to book comparison.


Back to where I was.

For a person who ain’t a big fan of horror, I actually really like this series and am interesting to see how it developed despite being ruined by the trailer.

Thanks to the Q&A, I got to learn a little bit more about how the series came to life.

Firstly, Riggs is a super duper creative writer. Collecting antique pictures and combining them to build into a story? That’s a super cool idea. I get it how all authors create “images” in their mind or find physical inspiration, but to also use these photos Riggs found in his free time and include them in the book? I’m not ashamed to say that I anticipate flipping to a photography page. I might be a biased professional iPhone photographer who would like to prove the point that iPhones can take pics as good as Nikons or Canons, but those pics were super cool, I tend to spend like a minute looking at each of them.

I certainly do love books that include a bit of a mystery so that along the book, by collecting hints and evidence I can find out a conclusion along with the characters. It’s also really nice to see how our protagonist, Jacob discovers his grandfather’s pasts and the peculiar children. I also think that the entire concept of the peculiar was really interesting and creative. I mean, it all sparked from having a paranormal mind and the antique photographs, right? I also appreciate the ability diversity, not just physical, but also mental. We don’t wanna be too biased, do we?

Oh and certainly I’m not going to leave out the time loop in the book. I’m not going to explain much about why there is a time loop, but a bit of science fiction mixed with historical fiction? I thought that was pretty cool. The part where the time loops again was described in detail, and I thought that section was really, impactful when it played in my mind.

I do think that the climax was a little bit rushed and slightly confusing, but overall I liked the events, funny sections and mysteries that go on in this book. I think because of the trailer, the book sort of ruined some of our impressions on the book, where the movie seemed more exciting and colorful, while the book seemed a bit more ordinary and dull, but as Riggs had mentioned in the Q&A, “the first book was about opening a door and discovering a world”,  basically detailed world building. And in that manner the book might be slightly slow paced, but everything was set for a reason so that we can get to know the peculiar children well, understand how the world works, have the relationships built, decisions made to set everything in motion.

Also it’s really not that scary.

Just replace every horrifying sounding creature in this book with a zombie from Plants vs. Zombies. It will ruin how you read this book but better than nothing.


Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children acts as the perfect house for a taste of mystery and adventure, choices, while being and not being creepy at the same time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

