Book Review: Hollow City – Ransom Riggs

I’m. So. Guilty. For basically not reading anything and procrastinating. I’m writing this on Day 4 of since I started Hollow City. Like, I’d like to say that since school started, school is a decent excuse, but I’m pretty sure I had plenty of times where I could have read.

P.S. This book review would contain light-spoilers for those who haven’t read the first book, so head down to my review page to find the first book’s review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.


23164983

Name: Hollow City
Author: Ransom Riggs
Publisher: Quirk Books
Release Date: February 24th, 2015
First Release: January 14th, 2014

Synopsis

This second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

Complete with dozens of newly discovered (and thoroughly mesmerizing) vintage photographs, this new adventure will delight readers of all ages.


Book Cover Comments

 

I showed my gym personal trainer. “Get that away from me Ew it’s so creepy.”

Lolz.

I’m supposed to be scared of these kind of things??? Maybe because I dared myself to play horror games that haunted me for life, making me basically never close my blinds when I sleep, I got used to it.

By the time I’m writing this Book Cover Comment I only finished Part 1 of the book. (There’s two sections). So I’m not sure how it relates to the book yet, but I’m loving the eerie effect.


The Actual Review

 

Since I need my memory to stay because I’m sleepy as hell, this review will be about the two parts in Hollow City.


So in my last review I also said about how Riggs said that Book 2 will be about exploring the newly discovered world, and that entire concept was cool a.f. The group travels outside of their “greenhouse/sanctuary” to discover more danger, others close to them, develop closer relationships and to understand each other better. And we also see more development and the coolios ability of the other peculiar kiddos (omg i seriously love this term)

I pretty much summed up some of the expectations in Part 1. Learning about the World of the Peculiars was really really cool, and Riggs never forgets to dump in a whole pile of mystery, riddles, confusing pasts and to-be-solved-hypothesis’-that-might-turn-into-an-actual-revelation, to keep us readers busy throughout Part 1 of the book. And I also love how Riggs throws in a little bit of that sweet romance. I couldn’t prevent myself from saying “Awwww.”

Because of what everyone needs to grow through, all of our wonderful peculiars grow up in Part 1, learns more about the outside world and to understand themselves, and we see the stories they share, and how each of them accept their own peculiarity. I also really love how Riggs threw in some deep and meaningful quotes into the book, and I thought “True. True. Another new quote to my Brain Library of Good Life Quotes.”


I need to stop eating popcorn.

In the end I slept after the review and a bit of reading. School tired the heck outta me.

And so in the end I finished this book and part 2 of the review the next day’s midnight. Hi World it’s 2am.


And so in Part 2, we get to discover even MORE of Peculiardom. At least, that’s what the book calls it. More Peculiar people, abilities, and I have to say, Riggs filled the ending with A LOT of plot twist.

I knew I loved this book TONS when Riggs added historical fiction into it, and that we get to explore a bit of London. Like C’mon. I bought this book in London right after I visited this place mentioned in the book okay? How is that NOT COOL? I could see the place as it was described in the book (nah jk. Put a little bit of imagination and it’ll b perf)

I have to say, whatever went on in in the carnival, those of you who haven’t read it will know what it is eventually, of course, with Elsa appearing there, I was like DAT CHILL THO. I have to say, I didn’t expect how some characters turned out to be in the end, and the plot development for it became.

Part 2 is even more about understanding one another, making decisions at hard times, and what will you choose: save this, or save that; sacrifice this, sacrifice that; as well as a lot of helping each other out and watching over each other’s backs in Part 2. It’s also really interesting to see how me myself and Jacob, of course, have pretty much blurred the age line, and forgot everyone else there is older than 80. And that’s where Jacob needs to make some important decisions at the end.

AND OMG BACK TO THE CARNIVAL, IN THAT BUILDING THEY WERE IN WITH THE “FROZEN ABOMINABLE SNOWFREAK” (hope those who have read it get my reference) I KNEW something was going to happen related to Snowfreak and Jacob’s dreams, and I thought it was similar in a way to the anime Freezing, of the concept of freaks and the metahumans (in this case peculiar) that requires understanding, not gonna tell you what happens next though. This will relate back to the ending when you guys actually read the book.

Book 1 was slightly more slow paced with the first world and location’s building, but Book 2 was even more awesome, with a fast paced: extreme time-travel that can be done by FOOT and no MACHINE or whatsoever, adventures in tons of different locations, paranormal stuff, horror that was actually creepier than last time, a hint of humor and romance, tons of suspense and cliffhangers that don’t kill you but makes you wanna get the next book A.S.A.P. And I forgot to reinforce the point of EXPLORING PECULIARDOM.


If you like Peculiar #1, then YOU MUST CONTINUE ON THE SERIES by reading Peculiar #2. Fantastic and SUPER cool.

Leave a Reply

