Book Review: Nevernight – Jay Kristoff

 

I got so hyped for this book I actually pushed back all of my TBR books on my shelf lol. However this book is the one that went through the ultimate one-week-guilt.So on Sunday I stayed up reading till 3am to finish it.

So the next day, I got high, signs of fatigue, felt like throwing up.


30969076
Name: Nevernight
Author: Jay Kristoff
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Release Date: July 25th, 2016

Synopsis

Destined to destroy empires Mia Covere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death.

Six years later, the child raised in the shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day that she lost everything.

But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and demons at the heart of a murder cult.

The Red Church is no Hogwarts, but Mia is no ordinary student. The shadows loves her. And they drink her fear.


Book Cover Comments

 

I loved the book cover a lot!

The crow represented something, all those drawings in the crow all represented something in the book. The illustration is also really well done. I also like how we have the red circle on the cover, and then the yellow and blue ones featured on other sides of the book. You’ll know what they represent when you/if you have read the book.


The Actual Review

 

Jay kicks off the story with the ingenious idea of how to write a book: he had the past and the present playing one after another, changing up the words a bit so that the format would stay the same but the content would be different. That part was super cool. PS Smut scene.

I also have to praise Jay’s ability in world building. I was super sucked in when the world  building started, all detailed and up to why Nevernight was called Nevernight. The maps featured in the book were also detailed and contained really deep meanings that a kiddo like me cannot explain, but all the concepts were really cool. I also supposed part of this inspiration came from Rome and Venice, as these two palaces were in Jay’s acknowledgements.

However, giving my most honest opinion, I started getting lost a bit after the mains section of “constructing world foundation”, basically the part where the actual main timeline-plot starts to develop. I understand the fact that Jay uses different ideas to deliver one’s speech, but sometimes they could be confusing as well. I got lost as well.

Even if things got confusing, Jay got his readers (me) right back on track to where our final destination is. The Red Church, the place Mia is headed to contains trials in order to achieve a higher status. This kind of scene can actually be found in numerous texts, but Jay gave it a special feeling by not only exaggerating and having the events being “took-seriously”, it was also something fresh from the regular trials of poison and sword. How everything was played was really surprising to the very end.

Nevernight also includes one billion mysteries so that the readers can solve. There were so many cases that I would accuse of this person, and he or she may or may not be the actual one who broke a rule or something, especially the mysteries near where the grand finale began.

Can I also briefly talk about smut scenes? Oh my god I was insanely breathing and fanning myself at some of the best and most bedazzling parts in the book. I didn’t want it to be over so soon XD

A lot of books are known to have rushed endings and a final battle. And though Nevernight included some of those components, it was, for some reason, not as rushed as it should be. Even if it was fast paced, it kept the readers on track easily, and the ending was actually something I would have never thought of.

I’d also like to mention the concepts of overcoming yourself in this book, and thinking for others. I think these are some of the qualities that we’re all looking for in books, and so that readers will be happy when a change has happened to the hero/heroine.


Nevernight is a great book to read if you are a big fan of trials and mysteries and plot twisters. Read it and share your thoughts with me!

Leave a Reply

