Book Review: The Iron King – Julie Kagawa

I sincerely apologise for the 11 day gap between the previous review and this review.

I took an entire week to read Alice in Wonderland & Alice Through the Looking Glass despite it being short. Probably because I seriously don’t understand classics that well. I do wanna talk about it so I guess, another book review it is.


6644117


Name: The Iron King
Author: Julie Kagawa
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Release Date: October 4, 2016

Synopsis

Meghan Chase has a secret destiny; one she could never have imagined.

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan’s life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.

When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she’s known is about to change.

But she could never have guessed the truth – that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she’ll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil, no faery creature dare face; and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.


Book Cover Comments

 

Now let’s put aside the human face, because I’m really not a big fan of human faces on book covers XD I’m too 2-D. My mate is also in 2-D (how tragic my life is)

I love the borders so much, and the blue ombre gradient is actually so pretty I cannot. The spine is ACTUALLY GORGEOUS, MAINLY BECAUSE OF THE SIMPLICITY, AND THE SAME GOES TO THE BACK AS WELL. FONT ON BLACK IS SLICK AND DEAD GORGEOUS.


The Actual Review

 

I should have done tabbing.

This book is absolutely magnificent.

I delayed this series since June and I wasn’t sure what to expect since I did buy the box set, a.k.a. determined to read the four books. BUT WHEN ALL THE TOPICS ABOUT FAERIES CAME UP I STARTED GETTING SUPER HYPED. The Iron King touches to the very basis of what faerie legends are to us, with the Seelie and Unseelie Courts. I actually had absolutely no clue about these things until this book. Ok Fine. I had a concept, but that came from the anime “Earl & Fairy”. SO when the terminologies such as Kelpie, Oberon & Titania ties into the terminology I hear from the anime, I hyperventilate and got soooo excited.

Image result for earl and fairy
That is my Grim right there. You see him?

Then there are the courts, which I did research after I read the series, with all the Seasonal Courts and how they work. Thank you Julie Kagawa for giving me the opportunity to expand my faerie legend knowledge even by a speck.

I don’t really know what to talk about characters. I’m just not a good book blogger, am I XD We’ll begin with Grimalkin then. He’s a cait sith that’s Meghan’s buddy in the faerie world. I absolutely love his mysteriousness and the fact that he’s a cait sith, and that just sparks things up a lot, with his abilities and identity, and just the fact that I can imagine what he’ll be like, thanks to the Earl & Fairy.

I find Meghan quite a daring person. Maybe I’d be like her when I visit the faerie world. As the faerie world and characters unveil around her, Meghan discovers herself and what she can do more and more, and how she sees those around her. Though I have to say she does have that certain dumbness in her with her mind and her eccentric tastes in clothing, but I glamour my characters like hell so who cares XD
Image result for seelie and unseelie courtAsh is the Winter Prince whom you’ll meet in the series, and it’s really sad to see such a character like him, the vows that he has to keep because he is the Winter Prince of the Unseelie Court, and the past he has dealt with. And all of a sudden, this series is starting to give me a Throne Of Glass Feel. No spoilers at all. Don’t worry. Then another character you’ll see around a lot is Puck. Puck is the playfulness to Ash’s coolness, and you don’t say that that’s a cliche love triangle whatsoever, but it’s these kind of romance relationships that I invest my mind into simply because I’m so shallow minded. I really can’t say anything more about him or I would be giving away spoilers.

So plot wise, I’m not going to spoil you readers, but I really really love the concept behind the Iron Fey Series, and you can figure out the meaning behind that if you would like to read this series. It really ties back into modern context about reality, the industrial revolutions as well as modern society booms, and how that ties back into the whole plot. The reality that the fairytales are facing right now, now that science is the absolute fact and human’s ambition to discover the truth of everything.

Image result for xxxHOLiC

I also wanna point out how the rules that the book series is setting, with bargains, promises and requests just really reminds me of the manga/anime series xxxHOLiC. The price of any wish must be paid at an absolute equal amount, and how promises must be kept and cannot be taken easily. Truths and lies and how the fae dance around these rules, the deep morals of some of these faerie world rules just makes me fall in love with it even more.


The Iron King kicks off the series with a strong start, tying in not only the very basis of the faerie world, as well as modern context that brings a whole realisation to readers of the world around them, rules in life, as well as a rich and lush romance that will send any reader into a bliss of love.

Leave a Reply

