Book Review: The Iron Daughter – Julie Kagawa

 

I’m quite happy because I’m back on track with my reading. And holy crap this series’ romance is definitely something to die for.

Also I used tape to stick my left pinky together with my left ring finger so I wouldn’t use my pinky because it’s exhausted. I also put my left leg up on my table while typing this because my thigh is so sore.


7747064


Name: The Iron Daughter
Author: Julie Kagawa
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Release Date: August 1, 2010

Synopsis

Half Summer faery princess, half human, Meghan has never fit in anywhere. Deserted by the Winter prince she thought loved her, she is prisoner to the Winter faery queen. As war looms between Summer and Winter, Meghan knows that the real danger comes from the Iron fey—ironbound faeries that only she and her absent prince have seen. But no one believes her.

Worse, Meghan’s own fey powers have been cut off. She’s stuck in Faery with only her wits for help. Trusting anyone would be foolish. Trusting a seeming traitor could be deadly. But even as she grows a backbone of iron, Meghan can’t help but hear the whispers of longing in her all-too-human heart


Book Cover Comments

So first of all praise for the beautiful vines because they’re always so pretty. And omg this time Meghan looks even prettier on the cover. I love how this time it’s a butterfly, and in my opinion, butterflies basically relate to metamorphosis, and how Meghan begins to grow up even more in this book.

 


The Actual Review

Once again, if you haven’t read the first book I suggest you stay on my Iron King review before moving on. And don’t ever read the synopsis/premise of Book 3 and 4. Especially 4. You will spoil the hell out of yourself.

I, absolutely, absolutely, love this book. Slightly reminds me of A Court of Mist and Fury. I need to stop thinking about Sarah J. Maas for a second.

In this book, Meghan spends the beginning of it in the Winter Court, hanging out with Mab and dealing with her. I love how she’s basically the Snow Queen and all of that, and I love her personality. Way better than Titania, at least. In this book. We also get to meet Sage and Rowan (ffs not Rowan Whitehorn), who are Ash’s bros, and their personalities and such. I really wanna know tons more about Sage, but of course he’s not the focus. He seems kind compared to how Ash described them in book 1, but alas.

This time, it’s a different threat from the same Iron Kingdom, and how Julie once again entwines the modern world with fae is really interesting, especially her choice of where the Iron Fey are based in this book in the human realm. We also get to meet the character Leanansidhe, who lives in the in-between world, and helps out Meghan. I find her extremely amusing in unpredictable, with her thoughts and how people describe her.

And during the time the main cast spends time with her, the “dancing around the truth” and “true names” always comes back to me, and the true name thing is definitely why this has gives me a reminiscent of xxxHOLiC, as I have mentioned in my previous review.

There are secrets hidden from each other in this book, but it is because of so, where people learn how to deal with those hiding from them, and the timing of things. It was also saddening to see relationships growing apart, breaking relationships because of misunderstandings, and I wanted to kill myself throughout this book because it was fantastic.

And the romance, holy crap. I die for this romance. It is absolutely sweet and magnificent, and how Julie decides when the relationships are glowing brighter and dimmer, as well as jealously and accepting one’s past relationships, all these fused into this book, and oh my god romance.


 

The sequel where the characters grow up into their next stage and face their next level of challenge, along with new allies, secrets, betrayals, enemies, the Iron Daughter brings the reader into the realm of Nevernever even more, making sure we never stop flipping through the pages.

Leave a Reply

