Book Review: The Iron Queen – Julie Kagawa

It’s quite hard to try to not spoil you readers because I’m just going to assume that most of you reading this blog hasn’t read this series yet, and yet this is the third book I’m reviewing.

Ok heavy warning: don’t read the synopsis if you haven’t read the previous books. I’m not kidding you will ruin yourself.


8685612


Name: The Iron Queen
Author: Julie Kagawa
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Release Date: January 25, 2011

Synopsis

My name is Meghan Chase.

I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who’s sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I’m not sure anyone can survive it.

This time, there will be no turning back.


Book Cover Comments

This time the symbol is a flower. And holy crap, that hot pink on black is legit one of the best color combos in the world of colors. Like, Black and Pink? There’s a reason why a new Kpop girl group is called BLACKPINK.

Meghan on this cover also has this really devastating look and I absolutely love it.


The Actual Review

So we all know that there is a sequel to this main timeline, the 4th book, The Iron Knight, but originally The Iron Queen was a wrap up to Meghan’s story, so yea Imma talk about it.

*trying to recall what happened in the book because I did read 4 books and 3 novellas of this series in 2 weeks*

The tension was well built up in this book, with a calm beginning to a cliffhanger ending. Throughout, I really enjoyed the journeys of Meghan throughout her pathway to defeating the False King of the Iron Realm. There were many moments where I thought Meghan was kind of stubborn because she refused to listen to some other people at certain situations which I won’t spoil, and of course, it isn’t until the last minute where she actually listens.

The entire concept of Meghan bearing special powers (now) is absolutely cool, and the quest to control both the powers inside of her, to maintain the balance instead of tipping the scale, is really interesting. This concept can actually also be seen in The Iron Knight, where I will talk more about in my next review (geez gotta catch up on my reviews. After this I’ll be taking a nap)

In the end when the other courts of Nevernever had to come back to Meghan for help, it was kind of funny, since Oberon and Mab have been ruling parts of Nevernever for centuries. And through the event of asking Meghan for help, it also shows that little bit of emotion, connection and humanity from Oberon and Mab, despite being soulless fae, and that’s what I really love about them in this story.

And Grimalkin is still the best cat in the world, being the one to lead them on, help them through paths and leading to the conclusion of the book.

I’ll get to talk more about Ash and Puck in detail in my next book, since it’s still currently Meghan’s story and Meghan’s life, but right now it’s time to talk about the romance.

The Romance is this book is deafening to a point that I cannot even describe. It is terrifically amazing. The romance throughout the entire series is just mind-blowing. If you’re looking for fae x romance, this is the thing that you MUST go for. Meghan and her lover (I’m trying not to spoil for readers who haven’t even read book 1 ~ 2) are just hot as hell, and I can’t die not swooning over these two’s love. I also really like the concept of how lover’s glamour is so strong, and that is what love is. Isn’t it?

The conclusion was heartbreaking and terrifying, but at the same time absolutely magnificent and beautiful. I don’t want to say this but the title does give away what happens in the end, though anyone would forget what it is until they close this book and take a deep breath. Meghan has grown so much from The Iron King up till here, The Iron Queen, and the decisions she makes in order to protect those she loves dearly are brave and Queen-like, out of pure love, even if it means a great cost and pain.

I’m so glad I bought the box set so I could read the next book immediately.


The Iron Queen is a beautiful wrap up to the climax of the first arc of the Iron Fey series, full with romance, decisions, choices and a cliffhanger conclusion that will make you want to read the next book immediately.

Leave a Reply

