Book Review: Stalking Jack the Ripper – Kerri Maniscalco

Ugh I need to stop procrastinating and get back on schedule. With everything. Reading, book blogging, and BookTubing. Especially BookTube.


28962906


Name: Stalking Jack the Ripper
Author: Kerri Maniscalco
Publisher: Little Brown // Jimmy Patterson
Release Date: September 20, 2016

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.


Book Cover Comments

You know what’s agonizing about book covers? Is that when you look at the credits and you see “Shutterstock”. Sorry if this sounds dissastified, but this liteally applies to all books which has “Shutterstock” XD

But I love it. The fact that she’s in this elegant emerald gown that increases that royal feeling, as well as the fact that her red lips are actually so contrasting. The knife she’s holding? Perfect match with her grin.


The Actual Review

So right after I finished this book, I was actually creeped out, I told my dad I might need a sleepover at his room Despite me being Sixteen.

Nah. I didn’t.

So one thing I totally love about this book is how sometimes it includes ancient images into it: all of them related to the context of the book where it’s placed, some even so creepy that I don’t understand why I was holding this book at all. So if you can’t do grotesque, I suggest you not pick up this book so soon. It’s quite hazardous and is actually a good book for Halloween.

And because this is a historical fiction, it really reflects how woman are seen and powered during the Victorian period where Jack the Ripper was active, and how modern authors infuse their own human rights and thoughts into this entire book, and that’s what I seriously love about it, is to grant a certain power and knowledge to women so that they, might be the main character of the story.

This adaptation of Stalking Jack the Ripper definitely puts you on a plot twist you can never imagine. You might think you can find this Jack the Ripper somewhere on Wikipedia and find some connections with any of the characters in the book. Nope. Jack the Ripper is shrouded in mystery until the very end, and I have to say, there was one other I won’t spoil you-Halloween element that was added into this book that showed me Kerri’s love for that element, as well as an interesting plot to it.

Though it might be something predictable, the fact that these two things were infused made things certainly interesting.

Though I wasn’t too excited when the book first begun, because I found the back of the HC, which said “I was the girl who loved the ripper”, would be that our protagonist, Audrey Rose, actually found the Ripper and stayed by his side. Geez me and my romance ships. So I thought it would be more of a book surrounding Audrey Rose and the Ripper, but then it turns out that it’s surrounding Audrey Rose finding out Who the Ripper is, so I guess I was slightly disappointed, but when Kerri decided to introduce a Seer into the story, he just brought me back by adding that element of paranormal.

And yes. The description in this book is 100% grotesque, and all of the Jack the Ripper things are exactly as what you can find on the internet, and that is what makes this book remain it’s original taste, while adding a new flavour to it with it’s special twists.


A definite read for Halloween to creep the hell out of yourself, Stalking Jack the Ripper is a wonderful book that leaves you shaken until the very end.

Leave a Reply

