Book Review: Illuminae – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Yes, review two of November 21. And after this I’m going to go to bed because I’m tired and sleepy, and yea. All of that.


25524728


Name: Illuminae
Author: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Release Date: November 1, 2015

Synopsis

One moment, Kady Grant and Ezra Mason have nothing bigger to worry about than each other. Specifically, avoiding each other in the wake of their messy break-up. In the next second, their entire world falls apart.

The year is 2375 and one of the mega-corporations that control much of deep space has just fired the opening salvo in an intergalactic war, destroying Kady and Ezra’s planet. Forced to flee on a small fleet of crippled rescue ships alongside thousands of other refugees, the fear of enemy warships chasing them down is at first all-consuming but soon becomes the least of their worries. A deadly plague is ravaging the refugees on the ships; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be an enemy; and High Command is refusing to acknowledge that there may be a serious problem. As Kady plunges into a tangled web of data in search of the truth, she realises that Ezra is possibly the only person who can help her save the refugees before it’s too late.


Book Cover Comments

two words.

IT’S LIT.

I MEAN OK FINE ITS SHUTTERSTOCK BUT THE STYLE THEY DO, THE CARVED OUT SECTIONS AND THEN THE SPINE AND THE PUBLISHER WITH THE “HIGHLIGHTED TEXT” EFFECT LIKE HOW COOL IS THAT

AND THEN THE PREMISE AT THE BACK, WITH THE MESSY MARKER AND SCRIBBLY LINES,

IT’S LIT.

And oh my god once you flip the first page of this paperback (yes this is one of the paperback editions that is an XL size. I got XL despite this edition having no discounts on Book Depository so that I can maximise reading this book in larger surfaces.) the inside cover, other than author blurbs, are some quotes from inside the book that’s HOLY ASIDJAPOSFIJKPEKPSOFJ


The Actual Review

I

Do not give a hell

about Sci-Fi.

BUT THIS BOOK

BLEW ME OFF THE CHARTS AND INTO THE UNIVERSE.

AND LIKE A FIREFLY IN SOME LIGHTLESS ROOM ABOARD HYPATIA, I SEE HER.
ALL AGLOW.

SO THE FIRST THING WE HAVE TO TALK ABOUT IS STRUCTURE.

STRUCTURE FFS, STRUCTURE. OH MY GOD.

Illuminae is actually “Files”, as in it comes in 500 thousand formats other than just a regular novel format. From emails to IMs to security cameras to interviews to Wikipedias to file reports, IT’s LIT. if you’re done with the two words IT’S LIT you can probably leave this blog post right now because I’m not gonna stop anytime sooner. And oh my god the graphics in this book. Can we talk about the frickin spaceship diagrams? It’s SO GOD DAMN COOL. Fine I do give a damn about some futuristic things simply because. So here’s how I’m going to sum out how cool the spaceship diagrams and specs are:

IT’S
LIT.

I should really stop.

I still can’t get over the fact that this space opera has legit been a roller coaster ride, two large climaxes that the crew had to face, and then small climax after small climax. I seriously love the main characters here so much. Kady is our wonderful space master who is of course the protagonist and heroine of our story, and the fact that she is a prodigy at something I won’t tell you what it is, it is because of her abilities, where this story is able to go on and become something so cool and holy hell. Another main character is actually A.I.D.A.N., which is the Auto Intelligence uh Defense uh what’s the A and the N again oh whatever. All you have to know is that it’s a master computer. AIDAN is really tricky to handle some times due to the fact that it pretty much is a machine, but even AIDAN grows despite being dead or alive, and that is one of the concepts that I loved so much about this book.

“You deserve someone who’ll run with you as far and as fast as you want to. Holding your hand, not holding you back.”

First of all thank you Amie and Jay for creating this ultimate roller coaster space opera that is filled with love, friendship, decisions, and all a bunch of other themes that I cannot explain in such a short amount of time. The fact that anyone, as cold hearted as they can be, can grow into something new is definitely magnificent. And how every sequence is laid out for something in the future to happen… just magnificent.

“Part of being alive is having life change us. The people around us, the events we live through, all of them shape us.”

IT’S LIT.

So the internet says that fans of James Dashner will def. love this. And tbh I prefer Illuminae of James Dashner. Mainly because its way more interesting (sorry James no offence) in terms of the formatting and the casualness of it, while despite having not actually read Maze Runner (therefore I don’t think I have the right to judge the book), it’s direct dystopian, which is not 100% my thing. Soaps and drama and whatever BS this book review is going towards is my thing. I definitely see some common aspects between the two series, but I mean, things get inspiration from other things, and definitely, Illuminae gave it a perfect plot and ending.

BUT STILL. THAT TINY SPARK.
THAT FLAME REFUSING TO DIE.

Hmm. Do I have anything else to say?

AH YES I DO. All the “swearing” oh my god. So for you guys who don’t know me long enough, I actually do swear on a daily basis (hahahahahhaha) and therefore despite all the swear words being censored and covered in this entire book, firstly I like how swear words are just included in this thing; secondly I love to think about what swear words go into the blackout spaces, and it keeps my mind spinning at top speed.

So to sum up this review, other than using “IT’S LIT”, this is the definite quote that sums up this beautiful space opera that will want you getting it’s sequel A.S.A.P. and reading it:


The universe was here long before you.
It will go on long after you.
The only way it will remember you is to do something worthy of remembrance.

Leave a Reply

