Book Review: The Thousandth Floor – Katharine McGee

After the Empire of Storms hangover, this is the LARGEST hangover I’ve had. The largest hangover. I’ve had. Actually. I haven’t been reading any YA for the past half of a week. I’ve been only watching Gilmore Girls and reading manga.


24921954


Name: The Thousandth Floor
Author: Katharine McGee
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: August 30, 2016

Synopsis

NEW YORK CITY AS YOU’VE NEVER SEEN IT BEFORE.

A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future where anything is possible—if you want it enough.

WELCOME TO MANHATTAN, 2118.

A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. Everyone there wants something…and everyone has something to lose.

LEDA COLE’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched.

ERIS DODD-RADSON’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.

RYLIN MYERS’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined…but will this new life cost Rylin her old one?

WATT BAKRADI is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy for an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.

And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is AVERY FULLER, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.

Amid breathtaking advancement and high-tech luxury, five teenagers struggle to find their place at the top of the world. But when you’re this high up, there’s nowhere to go but down….


Book Cover Comments

How gorgeous is this? Well I don’t know! It’s magnificent! Like, Gold on Black. That’s such a good colour match oh my god. And I’m really glad that the cover for the hardback jacket and paperback is the same, so all the engraved words are there, as well as the shininess.

The words are popped out and have this gold bronze like gradient, plus it’s in cursive, so it’s so pretty. I cannot stop praising the beautiful design of the building, and I super super love the fact that it fades into nothing. The spine is even more sick, because it’s the building, except that it’s shiny and somewhat reflective!!!


The Review

You people do not know how I’m dying over this book to the point that I literally cannot start And I Darken. Or maybe it’s just me who doesn’t feel like reading And I Darken. Maybe I’m gonna try to start on something else.

So it’s been 6 days since I haven’t read a YA novel and I think it’s an issue.

I know people say that “Oh it’s futuristic gossip girl I’m over that kind of thing and that plot with the overly complicated web”. WEll I’m not. In fact don’t hate on me but I haven’t read Gossip Girl so I know what it is but not the actual content. But I seriously found this book absolutely absolutely amazing.

“The higher you are, the farther you fall.”

It is completely up to you if you want to take that metaphorically or literally, because this phrase is something that will be popping up in your mind throughout the book.

At first I was a little bit lost mainly due to the fact that there are 5 characters on and running at the same time, but later on when one or two people start crossing each other’s ways, everything becomes much more interesting (yes i know this sounds cliche for this kinda novel). There comes all the plot and the beef and the secrets lurking behind the tongues of people, and holy crap, the romance in this novel.

“Sometimes love and chaos are the same thing.”

There are really mixed feelings about how the main couple turned out in the end and the fact that they were together in the very first place, because it is well, somewhat not something that every single person would be looking for? But I found it absolutely beautiful, I couldn’t stop reading the scenes they spent their time together over and over and over again until I could stop (which was like never), and I really appreciate Katharine writing about this type of couple that’s really rare in society, and I believe that in someway, it is also something that our modern society should learn to accept. (really. especially Asian culture.)

“If you aren’t sure, then you definitely aren’t in love.”

Other matches will eventually go on in this book, and it’s expression of diversity is something that I really appreciate. I also really like how New York is squished into one whole building. It just makes things really interesting, and putting it in a futuristic context just gets our minds to imagine more about the future.

The building up climaxes then return to the prologue in the book (btw you can check out the first four chapters in EpicReads), as the main timeline occurs 2 months prior to the prologue, and holy moly that ending was just mind-blowing and devastating. I knew immediately that I needed book 2, and I went to find my mom and told her the entire plot in 30 minutes.


Onto character talks! I won’t be talking about anyone besides the main character, because that would be such a giveaway of what goes on.

LEDA. Oh my goodness. I never expected her build up, plot wise and character wise to be so strong, it really blasted that ending and gave it a grand finale, in a really interesting way of course, and I didn’t even really see that coming either. She is indeed a character who would do anything for things to go her way, but at the same time, she’s going through some difficult times, and so I feel sorry for her, because she is gravely affected by her environments.

ERIS goes through another type of hardship than Leda, and at first, she displays that kind of spoiled brat behaviour (yea. the monarchy princesses, mocking the high society. jkjk) I really like this part near the ending where Eris goes to do something really meaningful and sweet, and that part really showed me that she changed. All I really wanna do is give her a big hug.

RYLIN changed so much because of other people she met, and she started to change some of her old behaviours. And I really love the fact that she cares so much for her sister and her family. It’s really sweet of her to go all out to do what she can. And Rylin is the character where I really connect to one of Katharine’s interviews, as Katharine really loved Paris and also cares so much about her sister ;) (those of u who’ve read it, you get the Paris reference)

WATT the computer genius. So this is really light spoilers, but Watt has this supercomputer that’s constantly telling him what’s going on, basically Watt’s Brain the II. Though some people might think “oh wow that’s a convenient thing to go on, having an encyclopedia in your mind”, but I find it really sad. Watt has to rely on the supercomputer a lot of the times to make the right move, but when he decides to temporarily turn it off, he will revert back to a person who lost all that power of knowledge, but at the same time, the power of knowledge is a huge burden, as knowing the truth doesn’t always give you an uphand. (ending spoilers *********************)

AVERY. AVERY FULLER. MY DEAR, SWEETHEART AVERY. Now I haven’t done any research on other people’s names, but I know that Avery has something to do with birds, and that really ties into her intro paragraph.

“The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.”

When I read that paragraph, I could imagine her looking out the windows of the thousandth floor, looking down at the city in sadness, because of something that she couldn’t have. I knew she was locked up in her birdcage, unable to be free because of the expectations set on her.

Her biggest Secret was standing right there before her. She just hoped he wasn’t also her Biggest Mistake.

I actually predicted that one thing she couldn’t have, as in the general topic, but I never expected her route to wind down that way. But in my opinion, it’s completely perfect and absolutely satisfying and oh my gosh. Five hundred more words to describe this and it wouldn’t be enough.

“Up here on the roof, so close to the stars, she felt young and alive and hateful.”

People always see Avery as the symbol of perfection, but at the same time she loathes being that symbol, because it is also a big burden and a stress, where everyone sees that outer shell of you, but all you really want is to relax and live like a normal person.

Now, I don’t want to spoil you so I’ll have to stop talking about Avery. I crie.


And when the path of the five merges into one line,
In between the web of lies,
Is where the Thousandth Floor lies.

One thought on “Book Review: The Thousandth Floor – Katharine McGee

Leave a Reply

