Book Review: Torment – Lauren Kate

C’mon Joanne, show some responsibility on your Fallen series book review marathon. Geez.

By the time I wrote this review, I have watched the movie 5 times, and I’m watching it another time this Friday. Genius.


7740152


Name: Torment
Author: Lauren Kate
Publisher(s): Delacorte Press (Corgi, Doubleday, Ember)
Release Date: September 28, 2010

Synopsis

How many lives do you need to live before you find someone worth dying for?

In the aftermath of what happened at Sword & Cross, Luce has been hidden away by her cursed angelic boyfriend, Daniel, in a new school filled with Nephilim, the offspring of fallen angels and humans. Daniel promises she will be safe here, protected from those who would kill her. At the school Luce discovers what the Shadows that have followed her all her life mean – and how to manipulate them to see into her other lives. Yet the more Luce learns about herself, the more she realizes that the past is her only key to unlocking her future . . . and that Daniel hasn’t told her everything. What if his version of the past isn’t actually the way things happened . . . what if Luce was really meant to be with someone else?

The second novel in the addictive FALLEN series…where love never dies.


Book Cover Comments

She’s definitely showing a tormented expression, and matching back with Book one’s beautiful black dress theme, like oh my god. The book I have on my shelf is actually the ember edition thats pink, so I like that better cus it gives a bit more life from that splash of color.


The Review

The second book is definitely really different, and it takes more of an approach to the different sides of a relationship. This book takes place in a school called Shorline, where Luce will be meeting the Nephilim and learning about other things that will help her along the way.

“Sometimes beautiful things come into our lives out of nowhere. We can’t always understand them, but we have to trust in them. I know you want to question everything, but sometimes it pays to just have a little faith.”

Because Daniel and the others have secrets to keep from Luce in order to protect her, Luce begins to doubt their relationship, not understanding why there are so many things between them. But no matter what happens, no matter how distant they might be at the moment, Luce will always love Daniel from the deepest parts of herself.

She could feel the beating of his wings. “You caught me.”
“I will always catch you when you fall.”

In this book, we also get to learn more about the Announcers and what can we do with them other than letting them observe our daily lives. I like how the Announcers function and the fact that it allows the events in Book 2 and 3 to take place. Though some might say it’s a forceful additional magical item (not gonna spoil you what it can do), I think it’s pretty cool. I mean, it’s like a Dummies All-In-One package.

“I have to go,” he said at last, getting to his feet. “I shouldn’t even be here, but I cannot keep my self away from you. I worry about you in every waking moment. I love you, Luce. So much it hurts.”

But at the same time, I feel like Luce isn’t giving enough trust for Daniel. I’m sure somewhere inside her, she knows Daniel’s love for her, but I think I understand the fact that if your lover is gonna tell you barely anything and can’t be with you for Eighteen days after everything just exploded, its hard.

“I know nothing. I know no one. I’m lonely. Every time I see you, you’ve put up some new wall, and you never let me in.”

Luce also meets her roommate Shelby and another super nice guy called Miles. The fact that I typed this line out means that there will be obviously some sort of fued, and since I did talk about a doubt in their relationship…. *coughs coughs* But as someone says, sometimes one would have to put all their faith in a person and believe what’s best for them.

When he turned to face her, the drawn look on his face was one of absolute agony as if Luce had just ripped his heart out.

We also get to see the other forces that are trying to hunt Luce down and take her for their own purposes, and you will meet these people in a very interesting setting, because that’s a scene where you will find all the main Fallen Angels in this book (yyyusss I’ve been waiting for a reunited scene) come together. What they’re doing I won’t tell you :P

Would love be so different with someone else? Was love even possible with someone else? Love was supposed to be easy, wasn’t it? Then why did she feel so tormented?

I also love how we get to know Francesca and Steven, the angel and demon teacher at Shoreline, and how they demonstrate a balance between Heaven and Hell. It also really gets me to think about the blurred lines between Good and Evil, as it wasn’t so simple ever since the very beginning, during the Fall.

Because love and hate were supposed to stand cleanly on opposite sides of the spectrum. The division seemed as clear as…well, angels and demons would once have seemed to her. Not anymore.

What Luce decided to do at the very end of the book was also very interesting. I never expected her to do so, and this series is just well executed in the fact that you never know where it will go, and each page will lead you to an unexpected event or fact, and the fact that your favourite characters will always pop in here and there to just make you smile. (Arriane I’m talking about you)

Daniel didn’t have to shoulder his punishment alone anymore. It was something they could do together.

Torment is absolutely beautiful in the way that, not only do we see the other sides of a relationship, we also get to think about how “Torment” works its way in everyone’s lives in this book, to think about the different sides of “Torment”, and how it’s not only one-sided. It’s really both. Unexpected events is the thing that keeps me going in the book, and those stolen moments of loves and kisses shared between Luce and Daniel just gives my heart the butterflies and sweeps me off my feet every time.


Would he find her?
Without question.
Would he save her?
Always.

wings-pageicon2x-280x150

Leave a Reply

