Book Review: Gemina – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Did someone say Gemina????

YES I JUST DID

Btw you should really try comparing this review and my Illuminae review side by side. Then play iSPY and spot the differences lol. #GeminaReference


29364863


Name: Gemina
Author: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Release Date: November 1, 2016

Synopsis

The saga that began with breakout bestseller Illuminae continues aboard Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of BeiTech’s assault. Hanna is the station commander’s pampered daughter, Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station crew one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon, Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

Told through a compelling dossier of emails, IMs, classified files, transcripts and schematics, Gemina raises the stakes of the Illuminae Files, hurling readers into an enthralling new story that will leave them breathless.


Book Cover Comments

two words. again. tbh I just wanna copy and paste Illuminae’s book cover comments cus its applicable here

IT’S LIT.

YES SHUTTERSTOCK AGAIN BUT THE CARVED OUT SECTIONS AND THE “HIGHLIGHTED TEXT” EFFECT GETS 100 POINTS

THE MESSY MARKER AND SCRIBBLY LINES

IT’S LIT.

AND YOU DO NOT KNOW HOW THE COVER ART THIS TIME, CAN BE EASILY RELATED TO A CERTAIN PLOT POINT IN THE BOOK, WHICH IS JUST SICK.

those of u who hv read Gemina will get my color coding above.


The Actual Review

THIS BOOK

BLEW ME OFF THE CHARTS AND INTO A PARALLEL UNIVERSE.

And blood and tears and screams did not matter anymore, because at least they are together.

SO THE FIRST THING WE HAVE TO TALK ABOUT AGAIN IS STRUCTURE.

STRUCTURE FFS, STRUCTURE. OH MY GOD.

Like it’s preceder, Gemina comes in 500 thousand formats other than just a regular novel format. And this time, we even get journal illustrations by fellow author Marie Lu. Everytime I look at those drawings I go: oh my god she’s so talented. You simply must see her wonderful drawings for Gemina. It might not be everyone’s style, but it’s adorable. a.k.a. IT’s LIT. if you’re done with the two words IT’S LIT you can probably leave this blog post right now because I’m not gonna stop anytime sooner again. And oh my god the moments when we see AIDAN the Artificial Intelligence do something real cool and sick which I won’t spoil, it was super super super fun to read, as well as see those gorgeous pages, and the parts where there are only one or two quotes on the page, and let the rest of the graphics blow your mind. So here’s how I’m going to sum it up:

IT’S
LIT.

I should really stop.

Ok screw the mirror effect with blogpost Illuminae.

At first, I was a bit worried while reading Gemina, cus it didn’t start off mind boggling, and for some reason, I didn’t know how it would turn out. Another main reason is that the main focus is no longer on Kady and Ezra from Illuminae, but two people at their destination: Hanna and Nik. And in the beginning, Hanna came off as too much of a spoiled brat, so I thought she would be the type to be helpess whatsoever. But the book didn’t disappoint me. In the end, I love Hanna and what she does so much, and her strategical thinking, the realities that she’ll have to face.

Choices that people will have to make, decisions that they will have to choose, priorities to set, sacrifices to make, all or one.

And now, born from the ashes, she’s a warrior in bloodied black.

By the way, this computer bug in the Heimdall Station is such a troll. Plays weird singing music 24/7 on the PA system that’s annoying as hell. I would scream and shout at the PA system if that song plays for another 2 seconds.

“It’s not about what I say, right? It’s what I do that matters here.”

I guess one thing I found myself to do when reading this series, and that includes both books, is that I don’t believe in certain large impactful events that happens on an individual. Not sure if I refuse to believe or whatever, but it’s just kind of funny. And the antagonists in this book are like super super fun to deal with.

I CANNOT HELP BUT WONDER
IF THE THOUGHT OF SAVING ALL THOSE LIVES AND HOPES AND DREAMS
PALES IN COMPARISON
TO THE THOUGHT OF SEEING HIM AGAIN.

Hmm. Do I have anything else to say?

I WONDER.

OH WAIT I DO.

THERE WAS THIS ONE PAGE WHERE THERE WERE A LIST OF NAMES. AND I RECOGNISED SOME AUTHOR NAMES WHICH WAS SOOO COOL AND I WAS LIKE WAIT WHAT! R U SRS! THAT’S SO COOL!

*brain identifies Victoria Aveyard and Kami Garcia*

I definitely can’t wait for the finale/3rd book next year, going through this exciting and thrilling space opera again.


Her eyes shining with the light of it.
Beneath, between, beyond.
And waiting for her on the other side?

A whole sky of different stars.”

Leave a Reply

