Book Review: Passion – Lauren Kate

I’m torn between doing this review and Gemina. But this is priority cus I’ve delayed it for so long hahahahaha.


9369720


Name: Passion
Author: Lauren Kate
Publisher(s): Delacorte Press (Corgi, Doubleday, Ember)
Release Date: June 14, 2011

Synopsis

‘Every single lifetime, I’ll choose you. Just as you have chosen me. Forever.’

Luce would die for Daniel. And she has. Over and over again. Throughout time, Luce and Daniel have found each other, only to be painfully torn apart: Luce dead, Daniel left broken and alone. But perhaps it doesn’t need to be that way . . . Luce is certain that something – or someone – in a past life can help her in her present one. So she begins the most important journey of this lifetime . . . going back eternities to witness firsthand her romances with Daniel . . . and finally unlock the key to making their love last.

Cam and the legions of angels and Outcasts are desperate to catch Luce, but none are as frantic as Daniel. He chases Luce through their shared pasts, terrified of what might happen if she rewrites history. Because their romance for the ages could go up in flames . . . forever.


Book Cover Comments

Tbh this is the only cover where I’m not satisfied with the face lol.

Probably because all other books (excluding 3.5) does not face forward, so when we see the model’s face, it’s a bit “uh?”. Mainly because her expression looks real depressed, but the Ember edition balances it out cus the green theme of it is real nice.
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)


The Review

Ok just to note that whatever I say beneath will be something already seen in the synopsis. So If you haven’t read the previous books, you’ll be slightly spoiling yourself.

“I think about her and only her. I count the seconds until she’ll be with me again. I choose her, as she chooses me.”

This time, Luce jumps into the Announcers to learn more about her past, past lives and to know more about the relationship between her and Daniel, as she had multiple doubts in the solidity of it throughout the course of the second book.

“Every single lifetime, I’ll choose you. Just as you have always chosen me. Forever.”

It’s really cool (even my brother said so lol) when you combine historical contexts with the book itself. The book included some events that took place in WWI and WWII, though the focus of course, is not on the war. And at the same time, it’s really interesting for those past lives in a sense that, instead of seeing the

BANG

BOOM

BRURURBURBURBURBURBURBURBURBURBURUUUUU

WEEWOOWEEWEOOOWEEOWOOWEEOOOWOWOOWO

you’re closing the angle and to see the citizens, not soldiers, what they are doing while war is happening, and ultimately, what Luce of that lifetime is doing: the differences of her name, her appearance (course you can’t tell cus its 1-D but you can imagine), everything.

“I’ll love you with all my heart, in every life, through every death. I will not be bound by anything but my love for you.”

I feel like this is also a history + geography lesson for me, because in order to imagine how the scenes and locations will play out in my head, I went on my laptop and did research on those places to get an idea of what I’ll be looking through Luce’s eyes.

Which is basically what happened with the book series. I did some research on Fallen Angels, Lucifer, the Fall, and the Grigori clan, and going through Bible verses that are related to these topics are my past time activities during sermons in Church. (Yes I am forced. Never chose to go me-self)

Suicide was a mortal luxury not afforded to angels.

There were some past lives that Luce visited that were absolutely heartbreaking. The physical proof that Daniel’s love for Luce literally transcends over everything. But yea I’ve heard some opinions about this (though of course, this thought is erased from my mind at the time I’m reading it), is that Luce had too much doubt in the relationship and still refuses to really believe.

I get where she is. I mean, she doesn’t even fully understand the curse that is surrounding her. But it is because of this destined journey-it is because all the other Fallen already knew this would happen- shows the proof of destiny kicking into place, and how it is Luce’s destiny to go through her past lives. To know beyond than that kiss that sends Luce into flames, to understand their love over time and space.

“And you know that I’ll be with you until the end?”

Bill was a pretty interesting companion. Yes, he is Luce’s travelling companion, guiding her along the way and being her tour guide, as well as being a friend for Luce. Though near the second half of the trip, he started turning bipolar. Though I quite enjoy the sense of humor that he’s got. Btw he really reminds me of Urd from Ah! My Goddess.

Image result for urd
Urd is half-goddess, half-demon, which is what makes her super cool~
“That’s his soul you recognise. Regardless of how you two may look on the outside, you’ll always know each other’s souls.”

My friend decided to call this book (she doesn’t like reading so I kinda summarized it): Harry Potter and Angels. Well I wouldn’t deny the fact that it might as well be a more cliche love story. But hey, this is a love phenomenon that started in 2009. And no matter what people say, this series is magnificent in the way that it’s love is so pure and beautiful. And it is all the smiles, tears, fury and laughs that makes a relationship even deeper than before.


“Love is the only thing worth fighting for.”

wings-pageicon2x-280x150

One thought on “Book Review: Passion – Lauren Kate

Leave a Reply

