Book Review: Rapture – Lauren Kate

Rrrrright. I’ve got an Chinese essay to write and cram in, I’m sleepy due to lack of sleep in the past few days, and I wanna continue reading Orphan Queen.


12716010


Name: Rapture
Author: Lauren Kate
Publisher(s): Delacorte Press (Corgi, Doubleday, Ember)
Release Date: June 12, 2012

Synopsis

The sky is dark with wings . . .

And time is running out for Luce and Daniel.
In order to stop Lucifer from erasing the past, they must find the place where the Fall began. Only Luce can break the curse, and it is her choice alone that will decide all of their fates.
But as Dark Forces gather, great sacrifices will have to be made in this final, epic struggle . . .
In the fight for Luce, and for Love, who will win?
The astonishing climax to the Fallen series. Heaven can’t wait any longer.


Book Cover Comments

I super love how mesmerising the cover is, as well as the fact that the girl is gazing towards the cloudy sky. Clouds = heaven (?) And I suspect that the background is Mount Sinai, which is a location that Luce will be visiting in the book, which is real real cool. Also, if you guys have noticed, since this is the last book mainly surrounding Luce and Daniel, aka conclusion, the dress is White instead of Black. Rapture.

 


The Review

Goodness gracious.

I knew I wasn’t ready for the ending and I wasn’t.

That ending. Is the most. beautiful. Ending of all YA books that reside on my shelf, right, now. I can’t even stop describing how beautiful and amazing this book got. Though now that I think about it, it might have slightly sidetracked from the original plot style this book went for, but everything has a meaning to it.

 

“I want you to know that I would do it all again. I will choose you every time.”

This time, a slight bit of non-time travelling adventure is mixed into the story, where they will have to gather ancient relics in order to find out the truth about the Fall, so that they might be able to save their love and the world.

“Mortality is the most romantic story ever told. Just one chance to do everything you should. Then, magically, you move on.”

Through their journeys and encounters with other people, some of our characters, especially Luce, grow even more, touches down into who they truly are deep down, and the displayed love, acceptance and forgiveness in this book is just absolutely lovely. The times when you know you have to work with those you might despise, but all for the sake of the World.

“Heartbreak is its own form of amnesia.”

This finale is also what really changed my mind about Christianity a lot. Because if even Satan was a fallen angel, then that means he was once pure. And the fact that God had forgiveness…

“Maybe not all punishments are eternal.”

I love the fact that each place Luce and Daniel visits to find the things they seek, Luce will remember a slight memory of her past lives, and while rereading this book, I remembered the very pressing reason why I chose the course of the Danube River when me and my family were choosing the River Cruise programs for Summer 2016’s trip.

It was because one of the locations in the Danube Course was one that Luce and Daniel visited.

Obsessed huh.
Yes, very.
Even if its in such an indirect way.

“Inspiration is an excuse for doing something you already want to do.”

This book is filled with the most devastating revelations that will keep you in awe until you close the book, leaving that aftertaste warm in your senses. Then you think about the glory of each character, the aura that they put off throughout the whole book, even if they have a small role. Also, please don’t get me on the “its a cliche plot” thing. I personally don’t mind cliche plots cus I don’t dig down and CinemaSin a book. Though I might.

I mean, if I CinemaSin-ed a book, I could CinemaSin any book with a score of 50 because none of them are realistic.

*DING*

I’m sorry I watch too much CinemaSins.

“You must remember how to dream what you already know.”

In this book, you will meet Dee, who is a wonderful and amusing character that is going to help Luce and the others along the way to learn the truth about the Fall, the one where all Fallen Angels do not have a clear memory about. Dee puts Luce as her first priority, so that her existence and purpose surrounds Luce entirely, and was prepared for this very moment. Her doubtless heart, knowing that Luce will turn what’s wrong into right, is absolutely beautiful.

“Grief can choke you. It’s dangerous, something else you have to beat.”

The final choices Luce and Daniel will have to make in order to be together, so that they would not need to face another curse over and over again, cursed to walk the grounds of Earth, separated any longer, ending up in flames.

“The past is important for all the information and wisdom it holds. But you can get lost in it. You’ve got to learn to keep the knowledge of the past with you as you pursue the present.”

I’m much desperate to spoil that ending for you and give you that very last line in the book, that one devastating line that only those who have finished the series, and followed each and every character on their journey will understand. I adjusted the last sentence so it’s not spoilery, but…

“Then they flew to distant corners of the sky, leaving a moment’s brilliant flash of light behind them, as Luce and Daniel fell in love…”

“We put our faith in love.”

wings-pageicon2x-280x150

Leave a Reply

