Book Review: And I Darken – Kiersten White

This will be an interesting one to write.

NOTE that there might be some negative opinions in this review, but it is purely my opinion, and i absolutely mean no harm.


27190613

Name: And I Darken
Author: Kiersten White
Publisher(s): Delacorte Press
Release Date: June 28, 2016

Synopsis

No one expects a princess to be brutal. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.

Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion.

But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.


Book Cover Comments

Yea, it was mainly because of the cover that I was attracted to this book.

The lavender/lilac purple contrasts super nicely with the background, which is, obviously, black. And the piercing of the blade is really cool as well. Though maybe it’ll be more natural if the petals weren’t all bundled up down there, and just flying around will be gorgeous as ever.


The Review

Now, at one point, actually no. Take 2.

Since chapter 5, I had the idea of basically speeding up the reading pace of this book by one day, doing a giveaway of this book because I wasn’t interested at all.

Yes.

I’ve had mixed feelings before I got into this book, mainly due to the fact that I haven’t enjoyed another book I read by Kiersten, which is The Chaos of Stars, an Egyptian mythology inspired book. I thought it kind of turned the mythology into something totally odd and different, and despite me loving a few romantic scenes, it wasn’t my thing. If you guys have watched Jesse the Reader’s I forgot which video, he mentioned that he had a love hate relationship with Kiersten’s books as well. I guess that’s kind of me.

So that gave a little backing to why I was real worried about this book when I first tried to pick it up.

Of all honesty, I actually found the beginning part, which is the birth of Lada and Radu really kinda, boring? Unnecessary? Like its not what I want from here? And when it turns out they were sent off to enemy country when Lada was 13 and Radu was like 10 or smt, I was like “what in the world that young?”

So yea, a lot of negativity built up, and then the fact that Radu kinda hated on Christianity (not that i’m 100% religious in terms of Christianity. I hv a love hate relationship with it too) was kinda asdfghjkl

Beef here, beef there, fueds here, fueds there. In the beginning, despite me knowing Lada is not stupid, I found her extremely annoying, and yea. Beast like. Not that I need her to be extremely dainty and feminine, but like, yea.


 

So why did I end up finishing this book, and deciding to keep it on my shelf?

That my friend, is what I’m going to talk about below.


When everyone finally reaches a decent age of Young Adult, aka 16/17/18, things, started getting interesting and out of hands. A very unbelievable and unexpected love triangle romance was occurring, and so this is where the true and best beef started. I seriously couldn’t deal with much of the battle and war going on, though that is also a key item that pushed the romance around, so I’ll forgive that.

Though through this romance, I still have to say Lada is overly headstrong when opportunities are right in front of her, and just because of her pride, she threw away that opportunity given to her. Though whenever Lada feels jealous, I’m actually with her, mainly because I don’t like harems, and Lada doesn’t like harems. That’s probably the only thing the two of us share in common.

And yes, this is a really character driven story, with everything mainly surrounding Lada and Radu, maybe mostly Lada, but Radu plays an equally important role, as both of them have this sort of interesting love hate relationship (how many times have I used this term by now), and the fact that they hate each other, but at least would want to be by each other’s side.

The ending decision that Lada make was really interesting, and when I thought about it, I struggled a lot between the two options that she was given, and that really ends the book with satisfaction, unsinning all the sins that was in the first half of this book! (I’m sorry I’m being a CinemaSin jerk here. I don’t seriously mean all of this)


Now, I don’t do much research nor do I know much about history regarding the Ottoman Empire and Vlad the Impaler, but I believe it was quite an interesting decision to write a story where Vlad is a girl, aka Lada, and the story on Vlad’s brother, Radu the Handsome, is emphasied more instead of being brushed off as a nobody.


Overall, I’ll give this book a fair to oh wow! If you, dear reader, don’t mind having a love hate relationship in the first half of the book, and is willingly to stand till the second half and enjoy all the juicy beef, then do please read this book. I’ll be looking forward to its sequel, Now I Rise, which is releasing Summer 2017!

Leave a Reply

