Book Review: Three Dark Crowns – Kendare Blake

I need to finish up to 300 pages of The Raven Boys before I sleeeeep…
And this book review…


28960218

Name: Three Dark Crowns
Author: Kendare Blake
Publisher(s): HarperTeen
Release Date: September 20, 2016

Synopsis

Fans of acclaimed author Kendare Blake’s Anna Dressed in Blood will devour her latest novel, a dark and inventive fantasy about three sisters who must fight to the death to become queen.

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown.


Book Cover Comments

I found the version of Three Dark Crowns I got pretty sick. Especially the naturalist crown. That’s something I’d wear. I mean, the black contrast just makes everything sicker.


The Review

Despite not taking long to finish this book because I was dedicated, Three Dark Crowns wasssn’t the most 100% pleasant read. And this can be proven by my urge to watch non-spoiler reviews throughout the book.

I find the entire concept itself, the war between the Three Sisters and their powers, Elemental, Naturalist and Poisoning very interesting. The concept of using something much calmer, as in poisoning, as in something that’s not super out of the mind fantastical like elemental is a fresh new blend into fantasy fictions like this.

I didn’t have a particular favourite sister in general, cus they all have positives and negatives at the same time. And therefore one thing I like about the perspectives in this book is that you wouldn’t necessarily aid which sister. It’s all pretty well balanced, and what you anticipate is what happens in the next book instead of how this particular sister will end up.

The book is mainly told in the Three Sister’s perspectives, and occasionally from the side characters, and that’s what spins my mind around, cus I get confused at times. But I do like the alternating sequence between the Three Sister’s town, since it makes things nice and well balanced.

So I’ve heard a lot of opinions on it’s overly slow pace and slow burn, and so let’s talk about that. Yes, Three Dark Crowns kicks off at an extremely sluggish pace where I just want to fall asleep. I’m sorry, honest opinion here. But when the drama kicks off, the chain reaction of bombs in my head ticks off, and everything just gets way more fun and interesting, and that’s what got me to the very end. Though I’d like Katharine’s ending story to be a bit more explained, Arsinoe’s ending was very well executed and well done. It was a very clean and clear cut, and her ending was what attracted me to get ready for the next book, One Dark Throne.

And I’ve also listened to talks about an unnecessary relationship occurring in the book, how it’s understandable of why it’s there, but why one partner of that relationship is pretty much a jerk. IIiiii couldn’t not agree. It is pretty true of why that relationship is unnecessary, since it’s none of Arsinoe, Katharine or Mirabella, but that relationship is part of the trigger that kick starts the wonderful Dark Drama. (ooo alliteration!) But yea, that jerk of a partner is quite a nuisance, I’d have to say.


If any of you can survive a slow paced book till at least half way, and will love and anticipate high amounts of deep dark drama, then definitely read Three Dark Crowns.

 

Leave a Reply

