Book Review: Paper Princess – Erin Watt

Finished this book under 24 hours spanning two days on the calendar, a.k.a. from 11pm to 6pm because it was so God damn amazing, it burned through me.


29508471
Name: Paper Princess
Author: Erin Watt
Publisher(s): Everafter Romance (self published!! woah!)
Release Date: April 4, 2016

Synopsis

THESE ROYALS WILL RUIN YOU…

Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone.

Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.

Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.

HE MIGHT BE RIGHT.

Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees. 


Book Cover Comments

I love the golden lines of the crown, and even though the physical book doesn’t shine or anything, the texture and the gradient color gives the illusion that it does. The watercolors at the back are really pretty, but I think it contributed to the mysterious “cheddar cheese” blots on my copy of Eleanor & Park 😂


The Review

Oh.
My.
Effing.
God.

This book is so insane, I can’t even describe it. It’s just… asdfghjkl
Pure Romance ffs, kills me, swept me off the charts and INTO THE UNIVERSE!

I just wanna talk a little bit about the target audience of this book. It’s more of a new adult than a young adult book in my opinion, and I recommend this for anyone who is around 16 and above, since the book uses sophisticated, sexy and luring language and scenes to intoxicate readers’ minds, and I was oh dear. #@$&@*#^%#@&^$*!^@&$# (hidden msg)

Also, the review will be slightly spoilery in terms of the relationship status, but hey, that’s the entire point of romance ;)

OK before we dig in into the main stuff of this to be spectacular book review, it’s time for another round of Joanne compares a book to an anime.

Image result for diabolik lovers

I mean, of course it’s Diabolik Lovers. Duh. A girl going into a house of 6 brothers, each attractive as hell, except that the girl here is the complete opposite of Ella.

Somewhere along the line, I started thinking that if I just got through this bad experience, this bad day, that tomorrow I’d have something better, brighter, newer.
I still believe that. I still believe that there’s something good out there for me. I just have to keep going until my time comes.

Ella comes from the gutter, and living among legit “royalty” (pun!) is not easy for her. She needs to grow accustomed to the luxuries in the Royal’s life. Yes you might think it’s easy to switch from poor to rich, but there are so many different behaviours between these two social levels (i’m sorry if i’m being discriminant), she has a lot to take in.
But what I love so much about Ella, is that all her qualities in life and her character that was born in her remained unchanged. She faced challenges and problems without ever thinking of running away, and she was never a coward. She even stood out in the sense that she does things that no other rich person or Royal would ever think about doing, such as working in the bakery.
She’s able to try to ignore most of the bad things that are happening around her, and her optimism is just really inspiring.
And the fact that she’s so brave because the next quote…

“You want me to say it?” he whispers. “Fine, I’ll say it. I want you. I fucking want you.”

I mean, there’s only one reason why our wonderful Reed would say that. Oops spoilers. Well it’s not really spoilers, since the entire point of a contemporary romance is so that the girl and the boy mentioned in the blurb has a 99% of falling in love.

Reed, I’d have to say, is a bit of an idiot. How do I describe him, kind of holding back. RIGHT THE BEST DESSERT TO DESCRIBE HIM: Lava Cake. Yes yes a whole ton of boys have Lava Cake personalities, but who frickin cares? It’s the clichés that make things more interesting. Reed is pretty tough to Ella sometimes, and somewhat overprotective of the ones that he cares about, but that’s what I like about him, for the fact that he really cares about his brothers (and maybe Ella HMMM HMMM) And when you cut open that cake and all that chocolate fondue flows out, oh my goodness this boy is fudging (pun!) insane. And some of us all know that there is a part of Reed that belongs to destruction and insanity, a.k.a. messed up. But that wouldn’t stop anyone of us from loving him, eih? :)

 

“I was having the best dream,” I mumble as he curls his body around my back.
“What was it?” he says roughly.
“That you showed up in my bedroom and held me all night long.”
“I like that dream,” he whispers in my ear and then he does just that—holds me until I fall asleep.

The interactions between Reed and Ella will keep you tumbling in a whirlpool of love and hotness, literally giving you sweet-heart-aches over and over again as you read it. The two’s relationship is really interesting throughout the book, with their ups and downs and ups and downs, and of course, it is for you, potential reader, to see what it is cus I AIN’T GONNA SPOIL ZE DETAILS.

(and while I’m typing this up, it’s Thursday morning near noon at school during break time in Hong Kong, and I’m wondering when Book Depository is going to ship Broken Prince and Twisted Palace, because I’m craving it.)

“You should know whatever game you’re playing, you can’t win. Not against all of us. If you leave now, you won’t be hurt. If you stay, we’ll break you so bad that you’ll be crawling away.”

The toughest situation in Ella’s life is her origin, as well as the fact that gossips exist in high schools where she and the Royals go to. All those Queen Bees b like ASDFGHJKL and you just wanna punch them in the face because they’re such jerks. But that didn’t keep Ella away. She didn’t shed a single tear for them, and went over the barriers that were put up in front of her over and over again.

This house is an illusion. It’s polished and pretty, but the dream Callum is trying to sell is as flimsy as paper. Nothing stays shiny forever in this world.

And to talk a little bit about the rest of the Royal family, yes, every single Royal is as messed up as each other. Each has their own addiction and blindness to something in their life, but excluding Father Royal, every other Royal boy is as captivating and as charming as the other. Much love much love. You’ll be introduced to some of the “Queen Jerks” at school, as well as a good friend that Ella will make. Aaaand a few other characters that will make an important appearance.
Speaking of the person who pretty much has the antagonist role, it reminds me of Scum’s Wish. I think Joanne needs to stop with all the anime related references.

Related image

This book is absolutely captivating and absolutely amazing. To so many different levels. I’ve never read a pure YA/NA romance like this, and I am enthralled and entranced.

And to give you one last present, feel free to skip this line if you want to avoid slight spoilers: the very last line of this book that will make you want to know what happens afterwards in Broken Prince.


I’ve fallen from the sky and I’m not sure I can get up. Not this time.
Leave a Reply

