Book Review: Windwitch – Susan Dennard

I’m currently reading some small novels, but you won’t see those as blogposts, but you can always check out what they are on GoOdReADS! *cough cough*


29939390

 


Name: Windwitch
Author: Susan Dennard
Publisher(s): Tor Teen
Release Date: January 10, 2017

Synopsis

Sometimes our enemies are also our only allies…

After an explosion destroys his ship, the world believes Prince Merik, Windwitch, is dead. Scarred yet alive, Merik is determined to prove his sister’s treachery. Upon reaching the royal capital, crowded with refugees, he haunts the streets, fighting for the weak—which leads to whispers of a disfigured demigod, the Fury, who brings justice to the oppressed.

When the Bloodwitch Aeduan discovers a bounty on Iseult, he makes sure to be the first to find her—yet in a surprise twist, Iseult offers him a deal. She will return money stolen from him, if he locates Safi. Now they must work together to cross the Witchlands, while constantly wondering, who will betray whom first?

After a surprise attack and shipwreck, Safi and the Empress of Marstok barely escape with their lives. Alone in a land of pirates, every moment balances on a knife’s edge—especially when the pirates’ next move could unleash war upon the Witchlands.


Book Cover Comments

Oh hoho the cover, this time Merik, is the same where the sword entwines with the words :>

I love the drastic change in color from the first book, and somehow it just really matches, the lighting fury and the whirling leaves, the rain. Much excite much excite.

One annoying thing


The Review

How do I say this?
Windwitch wasss… hmmm…. how would I put it, exciting at times, but other than that, it doesn’t get me like hyped up “omg” type of thing? So in this case I guess I would prefer Truthwitch more XD

So that’s the basic Joanne’s emotional summary of Windwitch. Now onto the gud stuff.

We get way more perspectives from how the book is written. SO originally, if I recall, cus it’s been awhile since I’ve read Truthwitch, we had Safiya, Iseult, Merik and Aeduan (not sure but anywayyyy). And this time, we have Safiya, Iseult, Merik, (COMEBACK OF OUR MAIN CREW DUH WOOHOO), Aeduan, and a new addition of Vivia, Merik’s sister. The fact that some of these characters will cross paths just makes things way more fun, and instead of the “oh what in the world is he she thinking”, you get the full coverage of what “he she is thinking”. That’s why I loved Vivia’s perspective so much.

I would say Windwitch is the book that expands our view on the Witchlands more, and I like how we are introduced to more of the witch powers, which are just really sick. But I do hope that these words can turn into visuals, because I sometimes have no idea which direction some of the characters are travelling in XD

The plot in my opinion was probably slow, as I took 4 or 5 days to finish Windwitch rather than the usual 3 day pace that I use. But no worries. The characters fill in all the excitement. I was a bit sad to see Safi and Merik have basically zero interaction, or I should just say, other than Iseult and Aeduan, Merik and Vivia, (oops slight spoilers!) no other characters met up and that’s just a bummer XD

The decisions a lot of the characters make in each sort of scene timeline, a.k.a. Safi and Vaness, Empress of Marstok – Aeduan and Iseult – Merik and Vivia – are just really interesting and fun to watch. Out of all the perspectives, I especially enjoyed reading Merik’s, as he’s going through quite a bit of emotional turmoil and up and downs, and his realisation of what he was doing at the time (psychological deep stuff that I ain’t spoilin’) just kinda resonates with me, therefore GO MERIK.

I started off not liking Vivia because of what I assumed her to be and what she did, but guess what, I like her. She’s a p cool sis and pretty lit as well. Though I wouldn’t say I’m a big fan of EVERYTHING she does. The beginning of the book does introduce her as sort of self centered. But hey, she is still a sis. (psst)

Aeduan and Iseult’s stories are very interesting, because they go through the roll credits of “sometimes your enemy might be your greatest ally” (something along the lines), and you will find out some revelations from Iseult, which is pretty bizzare and unexpected. Not that it threw me into big shock, but I think it was one of the biggest shocks of the book.

Safi and Vaness are stuck in a totally different situation compared to the last two pairs. (i mean duh lol or otherwise this wouldn’t be on NYT bestsellers if the scenarios are replicas trololol). We get to Vaness’ power which is sick, and Safi’s mind gears spinning, thinking how to deal with her enemies using mental thoughts and weak spots whatsoever.


So I’m sorry but I’ll have to say that I prefer Truthwitch more, but I accept the fact that this book is more on individual character, world, plot and scenario building, which still makes this book enjoyable. So I can’t wait to see what Susan will offer in book 3, Bloodwitch!

Leave a Reply

