Book Review: Broken Prince – Erin Watt

And I couldn’t read anything after Windwitch because I got Twisted Palace and Broken Prince. Spent one day finishing each cus its crazily addictive, romantic and amazing.

Also just note that with each of the Royals’ series, the synopsis pretty much spoils what happens next. So if you want to 100% avoid spoilers because I’ll probably include a little bit, don’t read it lol.


29519514
Name: Broken Prince
Author: Erin Watt
Publisher(s): Everafter Romance
Release Date: July 25, 2016

Synopsis

THESE ROYALS WILL RUIN YOU…

Reed Royal has it all—looks, status, money. The girls at his elite prep school line up to date him, the guys want to be him, but Reed never gave a damn about anyone but his family until Ella Harper walked into his life.

What started off as burning resentment and the need to make his father’s new ward suffer turned into something else entirely—keep Ella close. Keep Ella safe. But when one foolish mistake drives her out of Reed’s arms and brings chaos to the Royal household, Reed’s entire world begins to fall apart around him.

Ella doesn’t want him anymore. She says they’ll only destroy each other.

SHE MIGHT BE RIGHT.

Secrets. Betrayal. Enemies. It’s like nothing Reed has ever dealt with before, and if he’s going to win back his princess, he’ll need to prove himself Royally worthy.


Book Cover Comments

Honestly let’s just talk about how the synopsis formatting and paragraph wording mirrors each book. It’s kinda cute. And the blue on the cover? So beautiful. Watercolor effects are just asdfghjkl, and the crystals that compose of the crown :)


The Review

 

My friend told me how she preferred Paper Princess compared to Broken Prince, but I think each book and what it’s surrounding is so different in it’s own way, that its not something that I would really like to compare.

“I’m done playing games, Ella. No other girls exist in the world for me. If you see me talking to one, know that I’m talking about you. If you see me walking next to someone, I’m wishing it was you … You’re the only one for me.”

Paper Princess is where Ella discovers her new world, and the First Love. Broken Prince is where Reed redeems himself and opens up, the Blossoming Love. Twisted Palace, which is the next review I’ll be writing, the Eternal Love.

“She’s mine and always has been. From before we even met, she was mine and I was hers. I fought it too long, but I’m giving in now. I’m all in now.”

There’s a little bit of a dilly dally push and pull relationship between Ella and Reed when they have to deal with each other again. Some people might find it a bit cliche, but hey, what romance is NOT cliche?
And no one cares when each time Reed and Ella kisses or makes out or whatever, it burns you like hell because it is hot and steamy, and just the stupid wait till they get to fourth base is just frickin agonising. I wanted to see my Royal ship get to fourth base. And do you, current review reader, think it’ll happen? I probably gave it away but I won’t give it away. lol me.

“I’m willing to do almost anything for you. I’d go back in time to change things if I could.” He gazes down at me with determination. “But I’m not leaving you alone.”

We go through a lot of different stuff in Broken Prince as we go deeper down into the Royals, and not necessarily everyone, but the secrets and pasts go on and on and on, and the entwined web of lies and complications just gets more crazy and crazy. To a point where its so complicated that it’s probably getting away from reality, but that’s what makes the book so interesting. It literally gets you thinking: why? what? huh? jesus fml wtf?
But it just kind of makes you like each Royal boy more and more. You want to understand them and feel them until you reach their very soul.

*sobs*

“I missed you every second you were gone. I thought about you every goddamn second. You want to hate me for what I did? Don’t bother – I was hating myself for it long before you showed up.”

*sobs again*

One of the things I see from Broken Prince that I really like would be what happened to the school the Royals attend. Since Gideon the eldest brother was in school, he was the enforcer who regulated the student body and kept them in shape. Reed kind of slacked, but power was still pushed in. And ever since Ella left, we get to see more of how the school is pretty much messed up (lol) and what happens when it’s not regulated. (wait oh shit i think the plot between broken prince and twisted palace is fusing tgt i mean i read them one after the other in 2 days)

We all do, because that girl flew into our house like a whirlwind and made everything come alive again. She brought steel and fire. She made us laugh again. She gave us a purpose—at first, it was us uniting against her. Then it turned into us standing beside her. Protecting her. Loving her.

And Broken Prince really doesn’t only refer to the mistake that Reed made, but also deep down into his past, and this just booms and harmonises even more of why Ella and Reed are the perfect perfect couple to compliment each other, how they help each other up because they truly see each other.

*Sobs*

And getting to the ending, Erin Watt decides to drop another cliffhanger bomb on us. Jks no. DOUBLE CLIFFHANGER BOMB ON US. TWO EVENTS THAT IS THE KEY PLOT POINT OF WHAT BOOK 3 WILL BE SURROUNDING! SHOCKING! OMG! NOW YOU, READER, MUST GO READ THE ENTIRE SERIES!

“I do. You said it yourself—I see you. I see your hurt and your loneliness. I see your pride, and the way it stops you from leaning on anyone. I see your big heart, and how you want to save the world, including an ass like me.”

As long as you don’t mind really really really messed up societies, families, relationships, human beings and excessive swearing (i excessively swear everyday lol), as well as some sweetheart aching smut and third bases, go read Broken Prince so you’d be broken as well, and then die all over again.

He told me to stay away. He told me I didn’t belong. If only I’d listened to him.

 

Leave a Reply

