Book Review: Reignited – Colleen Houck

After much procrastination, I finally finished this.

Sigh life is getting more and more busier, and I’m slowing down on reading.


27833501

Name: Reignited
Author: Colleen Houck
Publisher: Self Published at CreateSpace Independent Pub.
Release Date: February 21, 2017

Blurb

A sibling rivalry.
A forbidden romance.
A spell that changes everything.

In Heliopolis secrets abound and passions ignite as chaos rises.

From the  New York Times  bestselling author of the Tiger’s Curse series and Reawakened comes a novella full of celestial marvel, passion, betrayal, and evil that will grow to reign over humanity forever.

Before Lily and Amon met, before the cosmos was in chaos and needed three brave brothers to fight off evil, there were four siblings who helped rule the earth.

Each sibling had a special gift. Osiris, the god of agriculture, helped mortals to grow and thrive in their natural environment. Isis, the goddess of creation, fostered health and wellness. Nephthys, the seer, was able to keep the balance between all living beings and the universe. But Seth, the youngest sibling, was left without any special powers. The Waters of Chaos, which granted each god’s talent, were running dry, and Seth was paying the price.

As time passed, however, Seth’s determination and wilfulness resulted in a very special gift, one that should have granted him the ability to enact wondrous change. But Seth’s competitive childhood gave him a heart so cold and vacant that instead, his gift brought about great evil.

Seth was now the god of unmaking, the creator of disorder and destruction. And he was ready to seek his revenge, dominating all who got in his way.


Book Cover Comments

I was a little disappointed with how the eye turned out, because the previous two were super realistic, but with this novella and the final book, it’s less sophisticated whatsoever. But nonetheless, the pupil is beautiful as usual, and I super like the bronze color theme and the goddess figures below :) And the peacock feather.


The Actual Review

Honestly I didn’t know what to expect when I first decided to buy this book. I bought it since it is one of my favourite series of all times, but what it gave us was definitely unexpected. I thought that the novella would go full Seth POV, but no. Every main deity who appears in the story, Osiris, Isis, Seth, Nephthys, Amun Ra, all of them get to share a moment of speech. But because of that, and that there is no clear separation of when who is talking, it confused me at times, and took me a little time to realise who was speaking.

I love the concept put in this book, Colleen’s version of how Osiris and Isis first got together, and the role the others play, and how Seth first began to discover his powers. Though basically none of these appear in original Egyptian contexts, I think what Colleen did, was made her world of Egypt and Heliopolis much more richer and a more beautifully weaved web.

Even though I went into this book with a slightly meh mood, since its not my baes of the series, Lily and Amon, but nonetheless, because of the story of love Colleen weaved for us, the ones who lay out the path of the future and the whisper of the stars, it is that where it drew my interest and end up closing the book in satisfaction.

And holy lords when the book referenced to the main series, and it turns out that Lily, who is the girl from the main Reawakened series (feel free to check out my review on them!) had her destiny and path already locked in and prepared for her.

I think my favourite character is Nephthys, her willingness to sacrifice what is needed in order to reach the final ending that will save them all. And the fact that her special power was to be able to listen to the stars?

*cough Wasret*

In the end, I was happy I read this book, because not only I got to see a new version of the love stories and deep entwined relationships and secrets in mythological Heliopolis, but I also got to see a little teaser of a prophecy (it’s basically one. it’s an indirect prophecy, as I would call it.) that relates back to the main plot!

Leave a Reply

