Book Review: City of Bones – Cassandra Clare

 

And here I am… reviewing the legend of legends…

aaaand being behind book blogging schedule!

Note that I will be commentating on the new covers, since that is the edition that I have and will go for.


Name: City of Bones
Author: Cassandra Clare
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Release Date: September 1, 2015 (1st published Mar 27, 2007)

Synopsis

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder—much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Clary knows she should call the police, but it’s hard to explain a murder when the body disappears into thin air and the murderers are invisible to everyone but Clary.

Equally startled by her ability to see them, the murderers explain themselves as Shadowhunters: a secret tribe of warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. Within twenty-four hours, Clary’s mother disappears and Clary herself is almost killed by a grotesque demon.

But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…


Book Cover Comments

Guess what.

I love it.

Shiny surface, not as creepy as the other edition with a male chest in my face-opinion, the bronze color scheme is lovely. And then there’s wonderful Jace holding a sword and touching some cards. Does it mean something hmm? hmm? hmm? ;)

Btw the new editions’ spines are ABSOLUTELY gorgeous.


The Actual Review

I never thought about reading this series, because I know how many books there are, and I was always so scared to start it because I know how much potential there would be. But here I am, thankful of my friend who basically forced me to read it by buying it as my Christmas present.

Even in the first book and it took a little bit of time to get into, Cassandra Clare’s writing was pretty amazing. The new edition comes with a forward that introduces just a little bit to what the Shadowhunter Chronicles would be like. Just how she decides to combine nephilims, vampires, faeries, all these magical creatures into one cauldron, mix it all up and pour it into one book? That was pretty amazing.

While the general plot concept was somewhat cliche about how a girl embarks on a journey to find her missing mother without knowing anything about her existing past or abilities whatsoever because her mom hid it from her (Ruby Red Trilogy by Kerstin Gier or Passenger by Alex Bracken), this series didn’t disappoint me at all. Book one begins with a lot of world and character introduction, concept building, so on and so forth. And through Clary, I get to know a lot of basically everything. Now the fact that this book was written in the old ages, there is bound to be a triangular relationship of some sort. But hey, who doesn’t like cliche plot lines? Honestly though, Clary and Jace are pretty cute, and I really want to know what happens next, because there was a plot twist regarding these two’s relationship that makes everything much more intriguing.

Other characters in the book include Simon, Clary’s best friend, Izzy and Raphael who are Jace’s companions, as well as the nephilim’s mentor. Being a regular human introduced into this gang of shadowhunters, Simon naturally felt lost, and Clary somewhat was using him as an advantage to access the human world, because I mean, Clary pretty much lost her house. There was a bit of annoyance and jealously that arose from Simon, in which I haven’t seen for awhile in YA novels, so he was a pretty fresh characters. The relationship between Clary and Simon as best friends, but including an unrequited love was pretty classic as well, but their existing bond could perhaps make them have more interesting development in the future.

Jace is a pretty cocky character to be honest. But hey lets just say this hot guy kinda got attracted to Clary, and chemistry just happened. And the way how he puts himself before others, acts without thinking, the way he just knew what he had to do in some situations in the book for the sake of Clary and not really himself, to save others around him, was pretty sweet of him.

We also get a brief introduction with Magnus Bane!!! Yes he is so significant because he literally has a book for himself (Bane Chronicles in which I have not read yet) He’s a pretty funny character in my opinion, with the way he hosted his heck of a party, but at the same time, really mysterious, because he has so much hidden power, and he only displayed a fraction of it in front of Clary and her friends.

So talking about roll credits, City of Bones refers to Bone City in the book (lol I’m just repeating myself), a place which Clary and Jace would visit, gain a knowledge to a really key information to discover the past of Clary, and how the plot moves along. I won’t spoil you (most of you here reading my review has probably already read City of Bones but whatever) because Clary’s past and family tree is what drives the conclusion to this first book and therefore leading to the plot twist that happened 75% of the way, but yea.

So that’s pretty much it because I can’t think what else to write, but I know that I must get City of Glass as soon as I finish my May Book Haul. And yes, I CANNOT WAIT FOR MY A COURT OF WINGS AND RUIN TO ARRIVE. Sarah J. Maas 4evvaaa

Leave a Reply

