Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas

Since ACOWAR is out, I thought I’d do a written review of ACOTAR and ACOMAF since I reread it :)


1609682422839894

 

 

 

Name: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Release Date: May 5, 2016

 Synopsis

Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.


Book Cover Comments

The two editions don’t have much of a difference, but one is more sophisticated background, and the other one simplistic. Both are really unique, and I really like it as how it progresses throughout the rest of the series.

And the tattoo on Feyre’s hand is really pretty.


The Actual Review

I actually don’t even know what to say about this book.

Like its just so entwined into my mind, I’m not even too sure what to talk about it.

“Don’t feel bad for one moment about doing what brings you joy.”

Ok let’s begin with “this story is inspired by Beauty and the Beast”. Yes I see it. It’s nice how the entire plot line is inspired from it, as there are some retellings where only part of it is inspired from it. Ok this is just complete B.S.

“Be glad of your human heart, Feyre. Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.”

ACOTAR started off pretty dull, until Tamlin comes in and interrupts Feyre’s life. As we see Feyre slowly adapting to the her surrounding and situation in the fae land of Prythian, learn to accept those around her, oh, everything is just sweet and romantic. (and that’s what Sarah wants us, plotted us to be in in preparation for next book.)

“I love you,’ he whispered, and kissed my brow. ‘Thorns and all.”

There are many sweet moments that Feyre and Tamlin spend together will make me fawn over everytime I read it. (yes ACOMAF readers despite it being Tamlin) Tamlin still has a special place in my heart during his time in ACOTAR.

I threw myself into that fire, threw myself into it, into him, and let myself burn.

Feyre is a really special character in the sense that, she had to be extremely independent since a young age, her sisters being, cruel, peculiar, just somewhat ignorant in my opinion. I don’t think I’d like my sisters (not that I have any) to leave all the work of living to me, but we’ll change our opinions on Nesta and Elain soon enough. They come off real different during ACOMAF and ACOWAR. Well attitude wise not so much, but still.

“We need hope, or else we cannot endure.”

Because the blurb didn’t say much, and I don’t want to spoil any of you who haven’t read it, but the last quarter of the book takes place somewhere else in Prythian, where the darkness lurks, where Feyre has to face some pretty terrible things, all in order to save her love, Tamlin.

I was as unburdened as a piece of dandelion fluff, and he was the wind that stirred me about the world.

But will that love be her savior, or her poison?

And the things that she has to do in order to save Tamlin…

And when you reread the books and find all the details entwined into the book that leads to ACOMAF and ACOWAR…

“Ah. The Suriel told you nothing important, did it?”

SURIEL BB IS THE ULTIMATE BAE OF THIS BOOK BECAUSE THE SURIEL IS LEGIT A BITACH GOSSIP QUEEN- SURIEL IS THE BEAST THAT KNOWS LEGIT ALMOST EVERYTHING AND BASICALLY A TRUTH TELLER!

If you find this review very boring, just go watch my youtube review. It’s probably better over there than this BS for the sake of OCD, so that ACOWAR won’t just be a review here, and ACOTAR and ACOMAF will accompany it. Yes I’m shallow I know. Shhh.


Ok update as of 22 May, 2017.
Let’s do a little more BS because I guess I’m a bit more in the mood.

“I came to claim the one I love.”

So let’s talk a little bit about Spring Court, and my initial thoughts on it.
Okay, who wouldn’t find Spring Court pretty, when Joanne is obsessed with flowers and just super likes nature? In Spring Court, the main people we get to see are Tamlin and his second, Lucien, who originally hailed from the Autumn Court as the youngest child of the High Lord of the Autumn Court.

“Because I’d want someone to hold my hand until the end, and awhile after that.
That’s something everyone deserves, human or faerie.

Lucien was kind of a douche in the beginning cus he just generally hated Feyre, but kind of gave up hating on her for unknown-reasons-cus-i’m-not-supposed-to-spoil-you-even-if-you-know-what-happened-reasons. And then Tamlin was just genuinely kind. I just saw so much charm in him because I like happy endings and sweet couples. Ahhh, if only life could be a dream.

As I lifted the ash dagger, something inside me fractured so completely that there would be no hope of ever repairing it.

Feyre had to face quite a ton near the ending, where everyone think is where the exciting part is, aka when Beauty saves Beast from whatever curse is on him. Yes need I remind you this is a partial retelling. And this is all just the first step into how she’s broken into tiny little pieces, and the step into how she will heal all together in the second book. P.S., what happened to Feyre is somewhat significant to book 3 ;)

“Everything I love has always had a tendency to be taken from me. I tell very few about the wings. Or the flying.”

Btw the villain in this book is pretty legendary. I mean, in the end she’s just trying to protect the one she loves, in this case, heartbroken and p much died, so she went mad and bonkers. *gods I see all the Sailor Moon references of how in the end, the villains only want to protect EERRR MAHHH GAWDDDD ETHICS AND MORALS MY MIND IS EXPLODING*

“I stepped out of the shelter of my savior’s arm and turned to thank him. Standing before me was the most beautiful man I’d ever seen.”

Anyway this book just broke my heart right after I read it, and then I decided that there was nothing I can do except to send a package to SJM because ilysm cus ToG Series also broke my heart, and I made my twitter fan account, aaandddd I reread ACOTAR the next week to celebrate the release of ACOMAF~

“Because,” he went on, his eyes locked with mine, “I didn’t want you to fight alone. Or die alone.”

Btw get ready to meet dead hot High Lord of the Night Court Rhysand and his legendary banter and kindness. Secrets remain in this supposed-non-spoiler-review until ACOMAF.

His eyes locked on mine wide and wild, and his nostrils flared. Shock—pure shock flashed across his features at whatever he saw on my face, and he stumbled back a step. Actually stumbled.

 

Honestly guys this book is amazing. For those of you who think ACOTAR is a waste of time because of what ACOMAF and ACOWAR is gonna be, shut up and learn to embrace everyone and stop being so judgemental. BE FORGIVING.

Leave a Reply

