Book Review: Pillow Thoughts – Courtney Peppernell

 

 

Oops… Overdue on three reviews… Gr8.


34315137

 

Name: Pillow Thoughts
Author: Courtney Peppernell
Publisher: Pepper Books
Release Date: July 12, 2016

 

 

Synopsis

Pillow Thoughts is a collection
of poetry and prose about heartbreak,
love and raw emotions.

It is divided into sections to read when
you feel you need them most.

Make a cup of tea and
let yourself feel.


Book Cover Comments

The simplicity of it is a perfect match for the overwhelming emotions in this book. Fitting to the title, enjoy these pillow thoughts on a crumpled bed sheet at daybreak.


The Actual Review

There isn’t words to describe how beautiful this book was. And in order to describe how perfect this is, I’ll include the very first poem right here:

Before we begin, I’d like to share a story.
Once upon a time there was a jellyfish. We’ll call it
You.
You became lost sometimes
You could be a little unsure
You tried very hard
But sometimes it didn’t feel like enough.
I hate to spoil the ending
But You is fine
You is still here
You is going to make it.


Send me into a frenzy of tears right now, because that’s how I felt after I read it. Thank you illustrator Rosy Bullot for the adorable Jellyfish illustrations throughout the book! So in order to review this in the best way possible, we’ll need to see the absolutely adorable and cute-

Table of Thoughts

If you are dreaming of someone…
If you are in love…
If you are heartbroken…
If you are lonely…
If you are sad…
If you are missing someone…
If you need encouragement…
If you are soul-searching…
If you need a reason to stay…
These are for you.

For me indeed. For those poetry and proses filled with love, they send me into immense heartaches of joy, because I can taste the sweetness among those words. Having experience from reading all those YA novels with romance, I was totally ready for the love sections, and yes, it broke my heart. Ok I know I’m not making sense, but the best thing is, EXAMPLE!

I have been a little off balance since the day I met you. This is because I had never known what it is like to be perfectly aligned.

Honestly though? The death of me. And that was just a prelude. Main course on the way.

While happiness is present, sadness must be present as well. Those heartbroken, sad, longing, encouraging poems was something that really resonated with me, as I am going through some hard and emotional stages. It was really enjoyable to go through this entire book filled with poetry that I think can help me whenever I’m feeling down. There are actually proses where the waterworks came along, because they were so beautiful, I couldn’t even comprehend.

and I know you’re
a little insecure
and you think
just a little too much
but for all the times
you think you’re
not what someone
needs
I’m thinking that
you are

And last but not least: the reason why I bought this book in the first place, the reason I know the rest of this book was going to break my heart, the reason why I finished it so quickly and the reason why I healed me so quickly from a book hangover…

(thank you Common White Girl @GIRLPosts on Twitter, if you didn’t share this, I wouldn’t know about it.)

And the reason why…

This is for you.

Image result for looking for ice cream poem

Leave a Reply

