Book Review: The Dream Thieves – Maggie Stiefvater

 

Another award wining slow as ever book that took me ages to write this review due to procrastination and forgetfulness


20257177

 

Name: The Dream Thieves
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Publisher(s): Scholastic Inc.
Release Date: September 17, 2013 (Sept 30, 2014 my edition)

Synopsis

If you could steal things from dreams, what would you take?

Ronan Lynch has secrets. Some he keeps from others. Some he keeps from himself.

One secret: Ronan can bring things out of his dreams.

And sometimes he’s not the only one who wants those things.

Ronan is one of the raven boys – a group of friends, practically brothers, searching for a dead king named Glendower, who they think is hidden somewhere in the hills by their elite private school, Aglionby Academy. The path to Glendower has long lived as an undercurrent beneath town. But now, like Ronan’s secrets, it is beginning to rise to the surface – changing everything in its wake.


Book Cover Comments

I find Ronan’s bald head, eccentric?

Still can’t get over the paintbrush technique over the heart.


The Review

 

This series surprises me.
Series’ usually go from only one person’s perspective, or even if it was from someone else, it highly surrounds the first MC. Not here though!

Right here in this book, and I thought it was Blue all along, we have Ronan playing such a huge huge huge role in this book. If I serve my memory right, over 50% of the content in the book talks about Ronan, because he has a lot of significance in terms of magical abilities, since revealed in Book 1, he is able to take things out of his dream.

What I liked during Ronan’s POV, was that we got to explore more of his fam. His fam is pretty cool honestly. And I kinda imagined his house like the Weasley’s. You’ll know why if you’ve read it or if you’re about to read it. Ronan’s parents actually really fascinate me. Stiefvater, despite having her books set in snail pace, no offence, makes up for it with all the super cool paranormal activity. And what Ronan is able to do, is connected with how the mystical place, I forgot the name, is acting.

Love fueds are born in this book, where Blue tried something that she might never be able to experience the true thing, where Blue discovers that her emotions begin to waver, and where Blue discovers that she might have always preferred someone else over her current so-called interest, and why in the world did she not think about what she saw on the night she saw the dead-people crossing back in book one. Oh Blue.

Now, I don’t think I can say much about Gansey, since this book is really Ronan and Adam based, so Adam time. Adam really shone in the last parts of the book, where he had to embrace what he has and who he is now, in order to maintain order and balance within himself (book one spoilers and secrets). Then things get real cool at the end, though I feel like things get a little bit too, non-realistic.

And a recurring problem I have is, I found myself heavily relying on book recap websites because I can’t really follow the plot sometimes. It just confuses me.

But there was that one line that was the tether to hold on to me to why I know that continuing this book is worth it:

 

In that moment, Blue was a little in love with all of them.
Their magic. Their quest. Their awfulness and strangeness.
Her raven boys.
Leave a Reply

