ARC Review: Zenith – Sasha Alsberg & Lindsay Cummings

Not to be confused with the 9 chapter eBook that was the backbone of this magnificent masterpiece: eBook review here!

Also, Its 2am in the morning, just finished this book and I am absolutely dead, but if I don’t write it now, I won’t be able to function properly.

Update: it’s 3am now. I finished this review at around 3am.


33843448

Name: Zenith
Author: Sasha Alsberg & Lindsay Cummings
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Release Date: January 16, 2018

Synopsis

Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful mercenary whose reign of terror stretches across the Mirabel Galaxy. To those aboard her glass starship, Marauder, however, she’s just Andi, their friend and fearless leader.

But when a routine mission goes awry, the Marauder‘s all-girl crew is tested as they find themselves in a treacherous situation—and at the mercy of a sadistic bounty hunter from Andi’s past.

Meanwhile, across the galaxy, a ruthless ruler waits in the shadows of the planet Xen Ptera, biding her time to exact revenge for the destruction of her people. The pieces of her deadly plan are about to fall into place, unleashing a plot that will tear Mirabel in two.

Andi and her crew embark on a dangerous, soul-testing journey that could restore order to their ship—or just as easily start a war that will devour worlds. As the Marauder hurtles toward the unknown, and Mirabel hangs in the balance, the only certainty is that in a galaxy run on lies and illusion, no one can be trusted.


ARC Cover Comments

I think the difference between this cover and the old cover, is that the simplicity just makes it much much much more beautiful.

The Mirabel symbol with its shadows and depth, but at the same time simple is just absolutely gorgeous, and the background, the galaxy smokey lightning-ey like beautiful blue and purple and indigo just takes my heart away.


The Actual Review

DEO0BvQUMAA4Vfp.jpgAbsolutely dead.

I am in shock.

On the right is me after I finished Zenith around fifteen minutes ago from now.

Zenith was a true roller coaster ride, and it definitely reached Zenith at the very end of the book. The plot twist at the very end was insane, and I am listening to an apocalypse-sounding-sad song of death.

Words cannot describe how amazing this book is. You’ll know what this book means to me when I do a video review, cus thats when I can show all my emotions. #ded

There was no fear in her eyes. Only a burning anger as hot as a flame.

Starting with the basics, as I said in my video review of the overlapping chapters with the original eBook, there was so much, so much that Sasha and Lindsay and improved on, even if its just the basic sentencing and redundancy issues (yes ever since I went for ACT tutoring these just come to me naturally). And I know just how much they improved, because I annotated 90% of the differences of the eBook VS the ARC. Oh right I’ll be making a separate post on how I managed to GET MY HANDS ON THIS BEAUTY ASDFGHJKL

For the first time in a long time, he felt fully alive.

I haven’t read much Sci-Fi and have absolutely no idea of what is the definition of a good Sci-Fi book, but either way, this blew me away. I always tried to steer away from the sci-fi simply because I’ve never liked Star Wars or Star Trek cus I got haunted by that horned red black face evil dude from Star Wars as a child—with the exception of The Illuminae Files— but I really enjoyed this.

She’d fallen, not for a lover, but for the skies. For adventure.

The bond between Andi and her crew is simply unbreakable, the respect they have for each other and the care they have for each other, their acceptance, their closeness, and more of this would be repeating myself over and over and over again. Can I just say that the AI on their ship, the Marauder, has the most beautiful name on Earth?

Like the stars.

The so called sadistic bounty hunter Dex comes in, and unfortunately Andi and her crew has to hangout to go on some sort of business that I will not spoil you. There is this love-hate relationship between Andi and Dex that is so hard to explain, and their tangled pasts and how that plays out in their relationship? And by the end of the book, seeing these two enemies acknowledging each other is nice to see. There’s always more to this relationship, and its so hard not to spoil you, so I must try my best to seal my mouth shut.

Androma Racella wasn’t an angel.
She was death incarnate.

We get to see the view and everything from three planets: Arcadius, Adhira —home to Lira the pilot— and Xen Ptera. Each of these are unique in their own way, and the vivid description that each of these cities have, the details and the work the Lindsay and Sasha put into describing everything to its finest is what won me over. I love beautiful places and beautiful sceneries, and having such a paradise (well this is ironical) is unimaginable. It’s always hard to start a world from scratch, especially set in different planets in a more futuristic environment, but I think this book definitely nailed that part.

“There’s a million colors up there. A million shades all mixed together. When you look at the world in more than just black and white, you begin to notice them.”

In this book, the story is told from the following perspectives: Andi, Lira (NEW!), Dex, K the female (NEW!), Valen (NOT SO NEW BUT NEW!) and Nor. K the female plays an extremely special role in explaining the story, especially in the very last bits of whats gonna happen. If it wasn’t for her perspective at the very end, my mind would not have exploded into millions of pieces.

“We’ve been through darkness. But that doesn’t mean we can’t still live in the light.”

Oh and if I haven’t showed it yet, there is a huge revelation at the very end, and with the help of K, my mind blasted into 5 million pieces.

She was sound and wind and movement. The elements that made up the world were hers to command.

Androma is such a strong and beautiful character. She’s been through so, so, so much in her past, from unescaping nightmares that haunt her till today, to the binding chains and the broken relationships that she has, she is an absolutely amazing character. And her other self, the Bloody Baroness, the one that stands so strong to defend the ones that she loves, the defend what is right, to stand up once again even if she falls over again and again.

Because it was not Andi who rose, but someone else in her place.
The Bloody Baroness.

At this one planet, we get all the different people in Mirabel Galaxy, and I love how all forms of extra terrestrial beings are included, from rainbow-shifting-iridescent-skinned people to those with 500 billion horns on their head, as well as those with beautiful tattoos all over their body or something.

“Sleep, and remember to dream of the light.”

Nor, the so-called ruthless ruler from Xen Ptera, she’s pretty amazing as well. I think its that special type of light that she manages to bring out, as well as all that she’s been through, that strength inside of her to continue to survive to reach her final goal.

“You will, Nhatyla. You’ll give us all back the stars and more.”

And now that we’re talking about Nor, I’d just like to say that by the end of the book, I seriously have no idea who to put as the villain or antagonist. Some of the characters-that-seems-like-an-antagonist has a soft side to them, and this is reason #2 why your mind will explode at the very end of this book.

The light had finally begun to shine.

Unfortunately if I say more, I will actually spoil this book. Bummer.

“You will join me, Brother, and together, you and I will take back the galaxy.”

But what else do I have to say other than the fact that this book is simply out of this world? When I read the last few chapters, it was as if I was thrown into a pool of feels to drown in and never surface again. And to end this review that is over 1000 words long: (why can’t this be school essays)

Fly true.

 

Leave a Reply

