Book Review: Wayfarer – Alexandra Bracken

Ok I just realised that I totally forgot to write up the review for Wayfarer… here we go!


30343665

Name: Wayfarer
Author: Alexandra Bracken
Publisher: Hyperion/Quercus
Release Date: January 3 / 12, 2017

Synopsis

All Etta Spencer wanted was to make her violin debut when she was thrust into a treacherous world where the struggle for power could alter history. After losing the one thing that would have allowed her to protect the Timeline, and the one person worth fighting for, Etta awakens alone in an unknown place and time, exposed to the threat of the two groups who would rather see her dead than succeed. When help arrives, it comes from the last person Etta ever expected – Julian Ironwood, the Grand Master’s heir who has long been presumed dead, and whose dangerous alliance with a man from Etta’s past could put them both at risk.

Meanwhile, Nicholas and Sophia are racing through time in order to locate Etta and the missing astrolabe with Ironwood travelers hot on their trail. They cross paths with a mercenary-for-hire, a cheeky girl named Li Min who quickly develops a flirtation with Sophia. But as the three of them attempt to evade their pursuers, Nicholas soon realises that one of his companions may have ulterior motives.

As Etta and Nicholas fight to make their way back to one another, from Imperial Russia to the Vatican catacombs, time is rapidly shifting and changing into something unrecognisable … and might just run out on both of them.


Book Cover Comments

Wayfarer is totally as beautiful as Passenger, and the purple is absolutely gorgeous. I don’t think I still know the significance of the tree but whateves lol. Its so pretty.


The Actual Review

(kill me its been too long ago as well)

Ok. Here we go again. The probably one and only problem with Alex Bracken books, and since this is the third one it pretty much is the case: its very very very very very very SLOW! Just like last book, for some reason I had to rush it before a flight, therefore I pushed myself to keep reading it no matter what, Wayfarer lives up to its name. It still kept me turning the pages, while it continues on the journey across history with even more exciting places, plot lines and new characters.

Ok the entire time Etta and Nicholas were fairy close to each other, (it was kinda as if one was catching up to the other) cus they’re separated into two teams, there were so much butterfly heartaches that I can’t even imagine. And then when everything just explodes and whenever Etta and Nicholas’ relationship get closer and closer, I just die over it.

We’re introduced to some really good characters, especially more of Etta’s relatives a.k.a. history, and that makes the plot super super super super funky and interesting. I was totally in shock to first meet these characters, how they played out, how Etta is tied in with them, and then how some secrets are here and there, oooooo.

Though I must say the ending does remind me of how Miss Peregrine… ooo. I totally forgot. In my Passenger review I mentioned how the Edelstein Trilogy was the only time travelling series I read. I guess Miss Peregrine counts as well? Like yea sure I’m happy for the ending and there really is no way to conclude the series, buuuuut maybe a bit too magical in my opinion? Also the Prologue and Epilogue just confused the hell outta me XD


Wayfarer, though slow, is a great read for fans of romance, time travelling, mysteries and relationships and so much more.

Leave a Reply

